when life gives you lemons

24 Feb

make lemonade.

And when Whole Foods gives you whole chickens for $1.69/lb, you make lots and lots of chicken salad.

recipes ‘n things

Chicken salad is delicious, and I don’t have it that often so I figured why not make a batch using a whole chicken? Boom, lunches for the whole week right there. Then the bones can be later used to make chicken stock for soups.

I started by slow cooking my chicken: 1 hour on high, 5 hours on low for a 3.5lb bird. No seasoning, just prop the chicken on a rack or tinfoil or veggies so it doesn’t touch the bottom of the slow cooker, and pour in 2 cups of water or stock. Once it comes out of there, it’ll fall right off the bone. You can eat the chicken plain, but since it’s unseasoned, ew.

Remove the skin and shred all the meat (if you’re anti-dark meat, just leave it off to the side and save it for stock). I divided the shredded meat into 3 bowls: 2 1 cup portions, and 1 2 cup portion.

I’ll omit the “instruction” part of the recipe below, because really all it comes down to is “mix everything together and shove it in your face.”

chicken salad 1: feta and tomato

1 cup of shredded chicken
1 tbsp mayo
1 tbsp sour cream
1-2 oz feta cheese
4-5 chopped sundried tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste

chicken salad 2: curried mango

1 cup of shredded chicken
1 tbsp mayo
1 tbsp sour cream
0.25 cup peas
1-2 tsp mango chutney
0.5-1 tsp yellow curry powder
salt and pepper to taste

chicken salad 3: classic dill

2 cups of shredded chicken
2 tbsp mayo
2 tbsp sour cream
a big bunch of fresh dill, chopped
a pinch of garlic powder
quick squeeze of lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste

And there you have it. Deliciousness.

other lemons and lemonade

So this weekend, I participated in a pub crawl in the Boston area. I’m really not a big drinker so I didn’t go crazy, but it’s still a fun event. I figured that after staying up late the night before, it would be a BRILLIANT idea to go to the gym at 7am the next morning. In my exhaustion, I pinched a nerve in my neck within the first 10 minutes of my class. I didn’t think anything of it at first, since it was just a little *pop!* and I figured I just moved oddly. But as the class progressed, I began feeling more and more pain. I finally stopped, grabbed an ice pack from the front desk, and went home. Driving was interesting… it’s sort of hard to look around for oncoming traffic when you can’t move your head. I had to do full-body shifts in my seat.

4 days later, I’m still in ouchville. It’s much better than it was on Sunday, but definitely not healed. Slow and steady, I guess? I don’t have the patience to take a week of rest. Especially not with my half training officially starting soon. Or maybe that’s all the more reason to rest. Hmph.

Also, we’re quickly approaching lunchrun weather. Aww yeah.

Leave a Reply

