monday brain exchange 25: race excitement

7 Feb

(The recharged and renewed weekly question series by OneLittleJill!)

What race are you most excited for in 2011?  Any destination races?  Are you trying out a new distance.  Tell us what it is in general you are looking forward to when it comes to 2011 racing.

Right now, I’m most excited for Boston’s Run to Remember. It’ll be my first real half marathon in over a year, and I really want to obliterate my old time from the Disney Princess Half. It shouldn’t be too hard, since now I’m much more educated on proper hydration and fueling. And after (barely) defeating the hills of the Around Cape Ann 25k and completing a marathon in 90°+ heat, the challenge seems much less daunting.

Of course, if I’m able to register for the BAA 5k, I will be ecstatic. There are only 5,000 spots, and considering how quickly the marathon filled up, this is going to be a clown rodeo of a registration. I’m not getting my hopes up too high for it yet, but it would be an awesome one to run.

Right now I have no destination races planned. I’m really trying to save up enough money to move into a place of my own within the next year, so that’s focus #1. Destination races create fantastic reasons to see new sights, but it’s not a necessity in my life right now. Smart financial planning!

I don’t plan on running any further than a marathon, so a “new” distance is right out. Maybe I’ll do a different race distance, like a 15k or 20k. Other than that, it’s 5k, 5 mile, 10k, and half marathons for me. I think I’m taking 2011 off from the marathon to focus on speed work and increased strength. I really *want* to run Chicago again… but logically, is it a smart move? I love Chicago. I love the race course. But is it smart for me to jump right in again? I had a lot of mental barriers along the way. I still have a few. I want to conquer those.

2011 will be a year of increased smartness and strength. It’s a year of at least 12 races of varying distances. It’s the year I stop caring about my pace in comparison to anyone else, and just do the best I can, with all the effort I can give, and to understand that pain and exhaustion are something to fight against; not succumb to.

some other words here

This weekend was a major bust. I went to a faaaaabulous concert on Friday night with a few friends, and woke up Saturday morning feeling like death. I was able to rule out a hangover because 2 beers within 4.5 hours, along with water? No. So Saturday was basically spent being horizontal and writhing in misery as I failed to manage to eat or drink anything. A short time after 9pm, I was able to eat 5 saltine crackers.

The next morning, I woke up feeling okay, but not 100% better. Curious about the previous day’s unintentional fast, I brushed off our scale and stepped on it. Lost 5lbs. Really? I hadn’t even been to the gym all week long because of the sucktastic weather. I also don’t really have 5lbs to lose (my lower weight at the time left me just two tenths of a point over the “underweight” BMI category). I managed to start nibbling on foods later in the day, and brought myself relatively back to normal. I think my weight is a-okay now.

super sunday 5k

Didn’t happen. The DCR told the race coordinator that because of the recent weather conditions, it had to be postponed. I was mildly relieved it was postponed, since my unintentional fast would have left me crawling 10ft from the starting line. But the day’s conditions couldn’t have been more perfect for a winter race; sunny, 44°F and a slight breeze. Right now, it’s on the calendar for this coming Sunday. Fingers crossed that it a) happens, and b) my stomach doesn’t decide to stage another coup.

2 Responses to “monday brain exchange 25: race excitement”

  1. onelittlejill February 8, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    I want to get in the B.A.A 5k so bad. I might actually cry if I don’t and I totally know it is a long shot! Especially since I will be trying to register from FL!

    • Kera February 8, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Gah, I knowwww. I’m going to be staring at my screen, just waiting to register. Registering for a race shouldn’t feel like trying to score front row tickets to a concert!

Leave a Reply

