From Sick to Super

3 Jan

Yesterday ended up being a big old dud. When I woke up at 3am feeling terrible, I knew a bad day was ahead. Lo and behold, when my alarm went off at 6:20 so I could get ready for Tabata, the energy was not there. Tight chest, congestion, difficulty breathing… yeah, I was not about to give my first shot at HIIT in that condition. So I whined in bed for a while, convinced I’d go to yoga later. When it became apparent that the proverbial elephants were not about to stop jumping on my face every time I looked down, I conceded to the fact that this was to be a day of nothingness. Oh well, I needed the rest. New Year Goal #2 in action.

Today I felt quite a bit better, but not 100%. Thankful today was supposed to be a rest day anyway. I am much less reliant on a box of tissues now. Wonderful sign.

Last week, my laptop did something rather unpleasant. I was working on it, when the screen became all skewed and suddenly this rainbow prism-like shape spread across my screen from the upper left corner. What. Ungood. Royal Rainbow.

So I left my computer at work to be diagnosed and ohhh boy it’s weird not having my laptop. However, I became the most ultra-productive without it. In the end, I’m counting it as a big win. Not only did I pack my lunch for tomorrow, I also laid out my athletic clothes for the week and picked tomorrow’s outfit. And did a load of laundry. And cleaned my whole room. This hardly ever happens on a weeknight and I love it.

Here’s to tomorrow morning, when my chest will (hopefully) be totally clear. And to the glorious return of The Daily Show and The Colbert Report tonight. I’ve missed those wonderful gents in the morning.

2 Responses to “From Sick to Super”

  1. Katherine: Unemployed January 6, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    that is the oddest situation with the rainbow thing on your computer! what virus-creating person would come up with that idea? I definitely need to spend less time on the computer but cold-turkey is hard. I hope it all works out!

    • Kera January 6, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks! Looks like everything was alright. I work for a tech company and they tested it… no abnormalities, so it must have been a hiccup.

Leave a Reply

