Freeeeedom!

30 Nov

And with the end of November comes an increase in personal time… for now. My company just opened a retail store on Black Friday, so you can imagine how time consuming that was.

The Thanksgiving long weekend was very much welcomed. And Thanksgiving weekend means one thing in my house:

Christmas decorations! I am totally against Christmas decor/music before Thanksgiving. As much as I love Christmastime, Thanksgiving needs its time too.

What else did the long weekend mean? Crafting. I set up our antique 1950s Singer sewing machine and got to work on my prototype for a reusable fabric coffee cup sleeve.

I have never been so grateful to have had gathered a large, weird button collection as a child. I found dinosaur buttons in there. Hell yeahhhhh.

Today also marked my first day of getting a Boston Organics delivery. They offer a bunch of different box types and sizes and deliver them right to your door. I signed up to get the Dogma box (all locally grown produce) every two weeks, at least throughout the winter, when it’s harder to find local produce and the closest indoor winter farmers market is about 30 minutes away. In the warmer months I’ll probably delay my account and shop at the outdoor farmers markets.

So, back to today’s delivery! I received:

  • 1 lbs Golden Delicious Apples (VT)
  • 1 lbs Macintosh Apples (VT)
  • 1 lbs Beets (MA)
  • 1 lbs Carrots (MA)
  • 1 Collard Greens (MA)
  • 2 lbs Delicata Squash (MA)
  • 1 head Green Cabbage (MA)
  • 1 Kale (MA)
  • 1 lbs Scarlet Turnips (MA)
  • 2 lbs Sweet Potatoes (NH)

All the veggies look fantastic, but the apples are a little bruised. I’m not sure if they came that way, or if I did that on the exhausting half mile walk to the train stations. Ohhh my arms. It could also just be that apples are way out of season right now. The cabbage? It’s huge. 5 freakin’ pounds of cabbage.

For tomorrow, I’ll post the first of many, many recipes to come of this delicious box of produce. Until then, enjoy some oats and grapefruit!

Leave a Reply

