Life, a Half Marathon, and Restoring Sanity

2 Nov

Just about a year after I decided to run my first half, I signed up for my next half. This May: Boston’s Run to Remember.

I have the running bug. Not that you’d know it, since I’ve really only run one mile since Chicago. Really? Really. This is my life right now. Last week there was only one day I was home before 9:30pm. This week and the next two weeks will basically be the same. I’m realizing that the chances of me doing any running before my Turkey Trot are slim to none. Oh well, it’s totally possible to PR a 5k after not running for a month, right? Don’t look at me with that tone of voice.

Once I have some semblance of free time back, I need to craft a good plan to improve my half time. That includes creating a better base over the winter: indoor track workouts, muscle classes, and cross training galore. I have until the end of February to kick myself back in gear. I can do it.

You might be thinking “Okay, so you’re busy during the week… but surely you have free time on weekends!” You would be right if you weren’t totally wrong. And don’t call me Shirley. With Cabaret opening next week, we have rehearsals all week long (no days off until *maybe* 11/15). And this past weekend? Well… I was at a little rally down in DC.

Yes, it was amazing. Yes, we drove 8+ hours each way to see it. Yes, the city was absolutely MOBBED with people. Yes, we attempted to go to an Italian restaurant for dinner, only to remember that the next morning was the Marine Corps Marathon when we were told there was a 7 hour wait for a table.

My life is crazy and I kinda love it. If I can ever find more time to write a detailed post and photos, I’ll do so. Magic 8 Ball says “ask again later.” Dammit, 8 Ball I don’t have time to ask later.

Run on, folks.

Leave a Reply

