Still Tired

22 Oct

So uh… how long is post-marathon tiredness supposed to go on after a marathon? Because I’m still feeling absolutely wiped. If it’s not post-race tiredness, maybe it’s allergies or something. But ohboy, 1pm strikes and I’m good for a solid nap. Employers don’t like that kind of thing, though. And I’m not a big fan of having any more than 1 cup of coffee per day, and usually none after noon. Crazy, I know. But this tiredness is catching up to me quickly. I even skipped my 5:30am muscle conditioning class. My brain was all “hahaha who are you kidding snooooooooze.” I’ve promised myself that I’ll make up for it by doing tomorrow morning’s class instead.

*insert comments about Boston Marathon drama* The sellout was a self-fulfilling prophecy. End. of. story.

Have I run since Chicago? Mmmmmmnope. I feel a little guilty about it, because I do want to get back out there. However, my work/theater/social schedule in the last week hasn’t allowed for it, and I don’t feel compelled to drag myself out of bed at 5am just to log a few miles right now. I did that for the last few months, and I’m enjoying taking control of my schedule again. Maybe a swift 2 miler after work? Maybe tomorrow morning instead? I’m just playing it by ear. And that’s alright.

Do you get post-race guilt? Maybe it just feels odd to be off a training schedule.

One Response to “Still Tired”

  1. Nej November 3, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    I’m feeling the same way after my half marathon a couple weeks ago. I worked so hard to get there, and now it’s as though I don’t even want to run anymore. Very strange. I ran my first run this week….no time goals, no distance goals….just running to run. It felt great! I’m going to keep that up for a while before committing to another solid running plan. :-)

Leave a Reply

