I’ve Missed You

18 Oct

Hello. I’ve missed you. The “you” here is this blog, everyone else in blogland (I’ve been reading/skimming, but also absent from commenting), and being more creative in general.

By the end of marathon training, I began to feel completely overwhelmed and out of control. Running and fitness began dictating almost every part of every day, especially in my peak weeks. Scheduling a 40 mile week? Egads. On top of that, I’m also in a local production of Cabaret (woooo come watch me be a skanky Nazi), so I lost a lot of both social time and personal time. It was too much for me to handle. And as sad as I am that the marathon is over, I’m sort of glad I have more time back in my weeks.

Oh yeah, that whole Chicago Marathon thing ;) I did it! I’ll write my recap later today once I download my pictures. I’m sure you all know most of the race details by know, like how disgustingly hot it was. I’m ecstatic to have finished. Plus, I totally have motivation to PR on my next(!) marathon.

Know what else I’ve missed terribly while being consumed by training? COOKING. I made up for it by doing my own cooking marathon yesterday. The end result: apple butter, pumpkin chowder, kale chips, butternut squash red curry, southern kale and beans, and red wine & pear sorbet. “Elated” does not begin to describe how I felt. Also: kale chips are addictive. Proceed with caution. Or don’t. Because it’s kale.

And just for fun, here I am absolutely hamming it up for the cameras in Chicago. Face says “wheeee look I’m running!” brain says “fuuuuuuuuuuu”

3 Responses to “I’ve Missed You”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 18, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Look at you rocking it out at the Chicago! I’m sure at some point you passed me as I was there cheering everyone on… ;)

    Congrats!

    • Kera October 21, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      Haha I probably did pass you! Much of the course is a big blur to me right now. Damn heat.

  2. onelittlejill October 19, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Great photo!!!

    I totally understand your time being stretched so thing…it can be really tough to fit it all in! I think a break is a good call, especially while you work on Caberet- and speaking of- how fun!!!

Leave a Reply

