Here, There, Everywhere

12 Aug

The past week has been filled with my longest run ever (15 miles), a bachelorette party, a bridal shower, an amazing Chicago Marathon fundraiser that surpassed the charity goals for myself and my training partner, and allergies so bad I was knocked back on the couch for 12 hours on Monday. Did I say past week? I meant to say that all of that happened in 4 days. Yowza.

I haven’t talked about my little backyard garden in a while. I gave up on the cucumbers. Something happened to the plant that caused the vegetables to grow in odd, bulbous shapes. Gardening fail. I managed to make a few jars of pickles before the purge. The tomatoes, though… oh my goodness, we can’t eat them fast enough. I pick about a cup of cherry tomatoes per day, and a couple big tomatoes each week. Since I haven’t had much time to cook lately, these tomatoes are either prepared the easy way (hello, caprese salads!), or are given away to family and friends. The peppers are slow to grow, but delicious when ready. And the fairytale eggplant are almost ready to be picked. The carrots have a little while to go, but their green tops are getting tall.

Speaking of food, I’m about two thirds done with The Omnivore’s Dilemma aaaaand I’m basically thisclose to almost completely omitting supermarkets from my food-purchasing life. Ideally I wouldn’t have to buy from supermarkets anymore, but let’s be honest. They’re necessary now and again. Though I have been discovering more farm stands and markets near my house, so hopefully soon I can become less reliant.

As I mentioned above, I’ve been knocked down by allergies this week. That means I didn’t run Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday. Ouch. I went for a good 4 miles last night and had to stop at 2.5. My chest was in so much pain from coughing that I either couldn’t breathe, or kept coughing as I ran. As much as I wanted to complete the 4 miles, it’s more important to rest up and be healthy for the 16(!) this weekend. As a result, I’ve made Vicks vapo rub my BFFL.

I’m giving 4 miles another attempt right after work. Bring it.

One Response to “Here, There, Everywhere”

  1. J August 16, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Allergies are the worst! Hope you are feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

