Feeling Stronger

4 Aug

Every time you exercise with consistency, you get a bit stronger. That’s a given. But for the first time, I actually FELT stronger this morning.

Last night I did a track workout with extra laps to bring my distance up to 7.5 miles. A month and a half ago, after my first track workout, I was hobbling for about two days. This morning, I did an hour-long muscle conditioning class at my gym. At 5:30am. Less than 12 hours (with only about 6.5 hours of sleep) after the track. And I feel amazing, aside from a few shakes from not eating enough post-workout. Seriously, I need to eat more.

The point where I realized how much stronger I felt was at the end of the class. We finished it off with crunches, my strength training nemesis (hills are my running nemesis). I waited for the fatigue to come and… it didn’t. When I first started taking the abs class at my gym, my neck hurt from straining too hard, and I was fatigued just a few reps in. After we ended our sets my mind was like “hey woah why are we stopping, let’s do some more!” Though that may have been the hunger talking.

I also ran a 36:32 4 miler last Friday. There are some days where I feel like I can hardly pull out a decent 5K. And for whatever reason, I rocked those 4 miles. I don’t question it. I lend a little credit to the Starbucks doubleshot I consumed a half hour beforehand, but let’s ignore that and focus on the awesome.

When did you first feel your training come together and have that moment of “woah, I’m strong!”?

3 Responses to “Feeling Stronger”

  1. onelittlejill August 5, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    I think that is the best feeling- when you feel strong and you know your hard work has paid off! Way to go!

  2. Chelsea August 11, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    I remember the first time I ran 5 miles. That was so.far. to me back then, and I was so excited that I called my parents.

  3. dynamic damsel August 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Great job! I am in between right now! I love that burn the day after but then I give my self like a week break until I run again lol. I am pretty crappy at keeping up with my workouts but it’s great to hear you feel stronger! That’s inspiring to me!

Leave a Reply

