Revisiting 13.1

25 Jul

Yesterday, I ran a half marathon. It wasn’t organized, it wasn’t official. There were no water stops along the way, and no crowd to cheer me on.

What it was was a training run. A training run I did in only 2 minutes over my official half marathon time.

My friend and I did it together, which was a huge mental motivator. We did the whole run as an out-and-back along a local bikeway. What we didn’t realize is that the entire first half of the run was downhill… leaving the second half as a steady uphill climb, going up over 200ft.

Yikes.

Making it past the 7.5-8 mile area was a huge step for me, since that’s where I began to cramp during my half. This time, I stayed fueled with Chocolate Outrage GU and lemon lime nuun.

No cramps! But wow, IT band pain in the last two miles. Every step burned and I wanted so badly to just walk. At that point, the mental struggle was greater than the physical.

Onwards and upwards in distance from here. Here we go.

6 Responses to “Revisiting 13.1”

  1. B July 25, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Awesome job!!!

  2. RunToTheFinish July 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    i love the mock races, i’m more relaxed and really enjoy it!

  3. Lacey July 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    congrats on the half!!!!!! solid distance, way to go!

  4. J July 26, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Awesome on the half! Great job running the second half uphill!

  5. onelittlejill July 26, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Do you foam roll? That helps with my IT band a lot!

    Good job pushing through!

  6. Chelsea July 27, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Way to go!!! So much harder to do the “hard half” second. You are going to rock Chicago!

Leave a Reply

