Track Tuesday

21 Jul

First of all, I think I’ve been skipping out on my blog so much because I haven’t been feeling confident in my training lately. My friend/training partner gave me a figurative smack upside the head this weekend to get with it, which was needed. And the result was a badass track workout last night.

I got to the track a bit later than I wanted last night, so I only had time for a half mile warm up before the group got started. Here’s the total rundown of the night:

.5mi warm up
800m of fartleks
4×400 speed work with 200m recovery
2×800 speed work with 400m recovery
.25mi jog to hills
4 hill climbs
.25mi jog to track
1.2mi cool down
TOTAL: 6.5 miles

I haven’t been to a track night in a few weeks, so I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to move again for 3 days. But one ice bath and a night of sleep later, I felt great; great enough to do a slow 3mi recovery jog this morning! It was also such a beautiful evening for running yesterday, aside from a bit of hot setting sun.

I feel recharged and ready to go. We’re running a half marathon training distance this weekend, which is both awesome and bizarre to me. 6 months ago, this weekend’s training distance was my overall goal. And now it’s just another number. Well, not really.

Is it totally nerdy of me to want to wear the same outfit I wore in my half? Probably.

I’m okay with it.

4 Responses to “Track Tuesday”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Totally not nerdy. Motivational… :)

    And let me just say, I did an ice bath the other day- and it could have easily been one of the most miserable things I’ve ever willingly done… holy cow.

    • Kera July 21, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Mine’s technically a pseudo-ice bath. I’m too wimpy to actually use icy water, hahaha. I just use cool water; cold enough to give goosebumps for a few minutes, but not enough to make me shriek!

  2. J July 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Great work on the track workout! That’s pretty intense with the sprints and the hills!

  3. onelittlejill July 22, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    That is a badass workout with the hills! You are the second person I read about having a badass workout today! Way to get back on track :)

Leave a Reply

