Double Digits

6 Jul

After a few months away from long runs (almost exactly 4 months) I’m back in the double digit club. My 10 miler this weekend actually went… pretty well! I was a bit nervous, considering my lackluster performance in my 9 miler. I made a few physical and mental changes before I went out, though:

1. I switched from listening to music to podcasts. I’m bad at being up-to-date with my playlists, so I’ve been listening to the same one for a long time now. I also allow the music to pace me more than I should. Originally I had planned on buying some audiobooks, but holy moly they can be expensive. The average audio book length seems to be 5-6 hours. That’d be great… if I didn’t have 13 weeks of training to go. Instead, I downloaded a few free podcasts: Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me and This American Life. I was surprised at how well they allowed me to tune in to their words and zone out from running.

2. I planned a route that allowed for a water bottle switch-out. The first three miles were done south of my house. I stopped back inside, switched my water for Gatorade, and did a 7 mile loop north of my house. Another note about hydration and listening to podcasts: I found myself reaching for liquids less often because I wasn’t as preoccupied with really feeling the effects of the run. I definitely hydrated, no doubt. But it was a bit easier to conserve.

3. I woke up and ran early. This pained me, especially on the Saturday of a long weekend. But with temperatures hitting at least 90°, I had to get out there by 8am.

4. Dinner the night before was some pasta loaded with veggies. Runfuel, yum.

The end result? Nearly no walk breaks, and enough energy to shave off a full minute of time during my last mile.

It’s about 100° here right now. And I’m tired enough to actually want to nap (this doesn’t happen often). Iced coffee time, here I come.

3 Responses to “Double Digits”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 6, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Nice work on getting back to the double digits even in the heat- my upcoming runs are making me nervous. I’m wondering how early I’ll have to get up to do them? Ick…

    Enjoy the AC. And the iced coffee. :)

  2. J July 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    I have been trying to run in the heat a little just to get used to it but this week is going to be SO hot. I think i will stick to the early mornings until the temps get below 90 again! Great job on the log run!

  3. onelittlejill July 7, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I need to plan for water switch-outs. Great job on the 10 miles!

Leave a Reply

