Hydration Ridiculousness

29 Jun

I am such a thirsty runner. And as I’ve mentioned before, my sweat basically has the salt content of ocean water. So I’ll bring fluids with me on pretty much any run over three miles. For anything over 5, I take Gatorade Endurance/Pro/whatever they’re calling it now to avoid cramping.

Now that I’m about to have a double-digit run almost every week from now until October (holy crap!), I need more than just my 22oz Nathan handheld. I’m thinking about getting a belt as well, which would definitely provide enough fluid for me, but would it look ridiculous? My question is this: do you ever look at runners and think “hahaha who needs that much equipment? What a poser.” I know, I shouldn’t care at all what other people think. I need more fluids than most, so I should just carry what I need to stay healthy.

At what point do you think to yourself “Woah, that person is using way too much gear!”? And at what point do you think “I don’t care, check out all my gear ;)”?

I have my first full track workout session tonight. I’m REALLY hoping it’s out of the 80s by then. Then again, nothing says “fun” like full-sun fartleks!

5 Responses to “Hydration Ridiculousness”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    This weather and the packing on of the miles has left me with a similar predicament when it comes to hydration issues. But you’re in the double digits- there is no way you can be confused as a poser! lol. Wear that belt with pride if you want to. ;)

    • Kera June 30, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      This weather is grotesque in every possible way. Yuck!

  2. J June 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I think it just depends on the person. Obviously you know you need to drink water when running so you do what you have to do. Whenever I see someone with a fuel belt, I always think they must be training for a marathon or a half.

    I just did a review of the nathan hydration pack…I don’t really like fuel belts and the pack really worked well for me. Plus it holds a ton of water and anything else you may need on a long run!

    • Kera June 30, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      I just saw the review… love it! You have me sold ;)

  3. Gabe June 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    People who think you’re a poser for running with water gear likely aren’t runners :)

    I don’t like running with the extra weight and bounciness of bottles and packs, so I hide water along my routes or plan the runs so that I pass a water stop (library, my car, Starbucks) every few miles.

    I did much of my marathon training on the Minuteman trail, and we drove ahead to hide bottles along the route so we’d hit one every 4mi or so. Mapmyrun.com is handy for calculating distances between your stashes.

Leave a Reply

