HOLY CRAP

29 Jun

I just got home from my track workout with my running group. And aside from the awesomeness of running 5 miles, I totally crushed my PR mile time.

We all do our own 1 mile warm-up jogs, then a bit of calisthenics. We ran two hills for a total of half a mile, and jogged back to the track. Then we did a reverse ladder (mile, 1200, 800, 400). As we started the mile, everyone dashed ahead of me. I just thought to myself “OK, just take it easy. Don’t let them determine your pace. You do what you can.” My Garmin died on me today (left it on for two days… oops?), so I was clueless about my pace most of the time. I approached the 400 mark and the coach calls out

“Two minutes!”

Well, shit. Two minute 400s is what I run when doing speed work. CLEARLY I was not running the pace I thought I was running. Lap two: “4:07!” A bit slower, okay. I felt my legs tire from the heat and hills minutes beforehand. I don’t even remember lap three’s pace. I just wanted to finish. Finally,

“8:26!”

For reals? I did an 8:26 mile? brb going to celebrate in every way and by that I obviously mean it’s time to jump in and do some 1200s and oh my legs.

I don’t remember my 1200 or 800 time. But the 400? Clocked in at 1:45. In one night, PR mile time and PR 400 time.

I think this club is going to do wonderful things for me :)

7 Responses to “HOLY CRAP”

  1. Lacey June 29, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    congrats!!!!!!!!!!!! big things ahead :)

    • Kera June 30, 2010 at 8:45 am #

      Thanks! I’m still beaming today :)

  2. onelittlejill June 30, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    YEAH!!!! That is awesome! What a great feeling!!!

    • Kera June 30, 2010 at 8:45 am #

      Thank you! :D

  3. J June 30, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Great job on the PRs!!! That is awesome! Running with a group will definitely make you faster!

    • Kera June 30, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks! I definitely feel the extra push when I’m with a good group :)

  4. nate June 30, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    congratulations!

    keep it up and stay hydrated in the this heat.

    i remember doing 6 minute mile repeats one day (long ago) in practice under the intense heat on the track. no fun…

Leave a Reply

