Market Square Day 10K Race Report

17 Jun

Sad to say I have no photos right now. I’m not even sure if the course had official photographers? Oh well!

I’ve had so little desire to write lately. Due to a new job in the family, I’ve been leaving my house before 7am, getting home around 5:30-6, running after work, and promptly having no desire to do… well, anything at all. I’ve actually been hitting snooze in the morning, which hardly ever happens.

Anyway, back to this weekend’s race!

I drove up with one of my friends on Friday night, and we spent the night at B’s apartment. We got up the next morning at 7am, got our numbers, and chomped down some amazing bagels from a nearby coffee shop. There were around 2,000 runners, so Market Square was quickly filling up behind the starting line. We killed the extra time before the race back at B’s apartment, and went down about 10 minutes before gunfire.

As we approached I told myself “don’t get caught up in the excitement, and don’t try to pass anyone in the first mile.” I repeated that over and over then BOOM we were off. About half a mile in I did start to pass people… but they were walking! Either they REALLY burnt out quickly, or they were walkers that decided not to go to the back of the start for whatever reason. If it’s the latter… come on guys, race etiquette. At least move to the sides of the road.

My friends zoomed off ahead of me and I got into the groove of my music. Side note: don’t you just love it when certain songs come on at just the right time? I kept glancing down at my Garmin, trying to maintain somewhere around a 10:00 pace. I hadn’t done a run longer than 4 miles in a while, so I decided to play it safe.

My first walk break came at a water station in mile 4. I actually brought my own water bottle filled with Gatorade Endurance, knowing that I needed the extra sodium. Even with the Gatorade, I felt a cramp in my foot around 4.5 miles. It slowed me down just enough that I ended up missing my goal time by 26 seconds. Ugh. Oh well, easier to PR next time.

Oh, and this course felt like it was TOTALLY UPHILL. Honestly, now. I think the downhills were gradual enough that they felt flat, then next thing you know you’re running uphill again. There was one last decent-sized hill in the last .2, ending on a wonderful downhill.

My final time: 1:02:26. I really wanted to get sub-1:02.

HOWEVER. The tangents I took brought my distance to 6.25mi, meaning that my average pace was 9:59. hahahaha yes! Victory.

Splits:
9:55, 9:57, 10:08, 10:30 (cramp), 9:56, 9:48, 2:10 (.25mi)

The rest of the weekend was basically spent eating and sleeping. It was one friend’s first time in a timed race, and he was just chowing down everything. We made fun of him relentlessly. All in all a fantastic weekend.

Other new news: I started with my new running group, and I start personal training next week. Hello, more things to write about! If my desire to write regularly returns. Oye.

3 Responses to “Market Square Day 10K Race Report”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 17, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    1:02 is solid! Nice run!

    I’m doing a 10k in July- it’s an uneasy distance for me… right between “run like crazy” and “pace yourself”. Ugh…

  2. B June 17, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Big fan of the report! awesome job!

  3. Tricia June 19, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    great job!

Leave a Reply

