Recipe + Photo Time

10 Jun

Before I embark on my Market Square Day 10K adventure tomorrow, I wanted to share some long-overdue items. I guess this is like a modified Three Things Thursday :)

Olive Bread French Toast

Okay, okay. I know what you’re thinking. “What?” But don’t knock it until you try it. It sounds weird, I know. It’s definitely more of a savory dinnertime dish instead of a breakfast toast. I imagine this would pair well with a green salad dressed with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, sprinkled with crumbly goat cheese.

This recipe is scalable for however many pieces of toast you’d like to make. Also, I’m not really the type of person to measure anything unless I’m baking, so I’m estimating the amounts here.

Ingredients:
2 large slices of 1+ day old olive bread
3 large eggs
1/4 c shredded parmesan cheese
1/4-1/2 tsp garlic powder
1-2 tbsp milk
1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
pinch of salt
freshly ground black pepper

Directions:
Mix everything but the bread and butter in a bowl. Once combined, place the bread in a baking dish and pour the egg mixture over the slices. Move the bread around a bit to get it coated on the top and bottom. Let it soak for a few minutes, then flip the slices and soak a few minutes more. This will ensure total goodness throughout the whole toast, and not just an egg coating outside and a bready interior.

While it’s soaking, put a pan on medium-high head on the stove. When it’s hot, drop in the pad of butter to coat the pan. Place the soaked toast in the pan, checking after 2-3 minutes for golden doneness. Flip and wait another 1-2 minutes. Plate, serve, eat.

This was so good on its own, it didn’t need any sort of topping. The parmesan cheese mixed in gives it a glorious little cheesy crunch.

The Garden

It’s been a bit less than 3 weeks since I planted my garden. And WOAH these babies haven’t wasted any time stretching their leaves.

two tomato plants, three pepper plants, and an eggplant sprout

oh my god lettuce. I harvested about a third of what you see, and it almost filled a 2.5 gallon bag. pickles and more tomatoes in the back.

a cute little cucumber tendril curl. aka my new banner image.

It’s been a rainy few days in New England, so I haven’t had to worry about watering the garden. But oh boy I need to get back there and check on the size of the plants. It may be pruning time.

And For Funsies

Here’s a semi-blurry photo of Conan O’Brien rockin’ out with Dropkick Murphys.

woahhhhhh

2 Responses to “Recipe + Photo Time”

  1. Chelsea June 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Your garden is so cute! We’ve been harvesting lettuce like mad, too. Hope the race went well.

    • Kera June 17, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      oh my goodness I have to post more photos of it now… it has basically doubled in size!

Leave a Reply

