Training: Back to Day 1

1 Jun

To be honest, I thought Day 1 wasn’t going to happen today. I was woken up by torrential downpours, bright lightning, and booming thunder around 4am. At that point I was like “well, I might as well still get up at 5 and at least do some strength training or yoga downstairs.” I semi-fell back to sleep, and when I woke up again at 5 I noticed how silent it was outside. I peered out the window, and the rain had completely stopped, and the ground was drying. Well now. It looks like I was meant to run today after all.

I geared up (with my items laid out the night before, woo!) and made my way outside for intervals. Just before I began running, I noticed an animal about 100ft away walking towards another house’s yard. After a few seconds I realized it was a deer :) So cute! Also, so bizarre because I live right off of a main street… deer, what are you doing near my house?

The air was thick and warm from the rain, which made for a totally comfortable run. Right. I huffed and puffed my way through my warm-up, and basically ran through the pain of my intervals. It was disgusting outside and I was absolutely convinced that I had run the worst intervals ever.

THINK AGAIN! Stats:
0.75mi warm-up: 6:56
6×400: 1:55, 1:51, 2:01, 1:56, 2:01, 1:52 (intervals 1, 3 and 5 were all on a slight incline upwards)
1min walk in between (~.35 miles total)
0.4mi cool-down: 4:00

Woah woah woah. I felt exhausted, and 4 out of 6 intervals were under 2 minutes (and the other two only 2 seconds away from that). Previously, my best 400 time was 1:57, and I beat that four times over. I can’t tell you how awesome I feel about that. What an awesome way to kick off Day 1 :) Oh, and I totally pulled a Yasmin and ate a cookie for my pre-run snack ;)

Feeeeeelin’ goooooood.

3 Responses to “Training: Back to Day 1”

  1. J June 1, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Great job on the morning intervals!! I love thunderstorms, just not running in them! Glad the weather cleared up for you!

  2. onelittlejill June 3, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    I like running in the rain…but thunderstorms are a total no-no!!! Happy to hear you got it in…and SUCH a good workout!

  3. Chelsea June 3, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    Isn’t it awesome when you don’t think you’ll even be able to run but you get surprised with a great one? Way to rock the intervals.

Leave a Reply

