The Most Harmful Drinks in America

25 May

It’s no secret that a lot of our readily-available foods in this country are laden with fats, preservatives, and an excessive amount of sugar. But what, exactly, does all that sugar look like? This morning I came across a blog post that highlights the 20 worst beverages in the country, accompanied by photos of their sugar-equivalent foods. Here are just a few of the offenders:

#20: Worst Water

Ok seriously, worst water? Water? You can have 2 Good Humor chocolate eclair bars and have the same amount of sugar in that bottle. Suddenly, plain water seems 100% more appealing than “antioxidant” water.

#14: Worst Kids’ Drink

This is particularly gross to me since I used to love Tropicana Twister when I was younger. The sugar here (60g in 1 bottle) is the same as having two cans of Reddi Whip whipped cream. Oh, and this juice is only 10% juice. The rest is basically water and sugar. Hooray!

#12: Worst Juice Imposter

Who didn’t love these 99¢ cans of Arizona? And who didn’t drink the whole thing right then and there because hey, it’s in a can so you can’t really save it! Think before you pick up a can like this again… one can of Arizona Kiwi Strawberry packs 81g of sugar; the same as 7 bowls of Froot Loops. I personally can’t even make it through one bowl of Froot Loops. Brb gonna be sick.

#11: Worst Espresso Drink

Ah, the peppermint mocha: a staple of the holiday season. Beware the white chocolate, though. I used to work at Starbucks years ago, and the white chocolate mocha syrup really is a thing to be afraid of. The venti white chocolate version of this staple gives you 660 calories and 95g of sugar; the same as 8.5 scoops of Edy’s Slow Churned Rich and Creamy Coffee Ice Cream. 8.5 SCOOPS. There is so much wrong with that, I can’t even. (Can anyone even eat 8.5 scoops of ice cream and not wish for death afterwards?)

I won’t spoil the top 10 for you… just go ahead and read for yourself. And give your water bottle a hug.

5 Responses to “The Most Harmful Drinks in America”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 25, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I checked the whole list out… holy crap.

    No wonder just half of a small white chocolate mocha latte at starbucks made my stomach want to die…

    thanks for the heads up… ugh!

  2. Lacey May 25, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    oh my gosh, those pictures really tell the story. i can’t get over it… geez louise!!!

  3. onelittlejill May 25, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I am beyond proud to say, I have never had any of those drinks. I was nervous about the margarita, but I usually only have those at Don Pablos (which I am sure is STILL ridiculously bad for me) so I am safe! Whew. Cause, yeah, gross.

  4. Steve Murphy May 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Hah! I used to work at Red Lobster as a bartender and made plenty of the Lobsteritas. I never really questioned their caloric content before, but just… wow. What a mess. And item one’s 2000+ calories? Mind=blown.

    Regards,

    Steve
    Energetic Healing

  5. Chelsea May 30, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    Wow. I don’t drink any of those items, but it sure makes wonder about the ones I do drink. Insane.

Leave a Reply

