Monday Brain Exchange: Week 8

17 May

Today’s topic is all about summer running.

Question: The heat is on its way (and for some has already made its arrival) and the summer is getting close :) What are some of your tried and true summer running tips for staying safe and cool in the heat?

I try to avoid running in the heat as much as possible. It isn’t comfortable, I feel sluggish, and my water/sports drinks get hot. So my summer running happens early in the morning (usually around 5am). I try to lay my clothes out and prep any beverages/fuel the night before so it’s easier to get out the door. Since it’s so early, the sun isn’t too intrusive and you don’t really need any sunscreen at that point. This weekend, however, I waited too long to get out of the house and ended up starting my 5 miler around 9:30am. The breeze was nice, but the sun was H-O-T. In reality it wasn’t even 70° but it felt much warmer. I brought 16oz of Gatorade Endurance with me (water alone doesn’t work for my body), and I ended up having to ration it out near the end because I needed to keep drinking during the whole run. Blah.

Tips:

  1. No run is more important than your health; know what your temperature limit is. Run in the morning if you have to.
  2. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.
  3. Invest in some well-vented socks. Sweaty feet = possible blister city.
  4. If you have to run in the afternoon, keep it short and bring fluids.
  5. If a long run is scheduled, plan to get up super early so you don’t run (no pun intended) into the afternoon heat.
  6. Listen to your body! If you feel tired, dizzy, weak, etc STOP. Walk back, or call someone if necessary.

What’s your temperature limit? I think mine is about 70-75 for a long run, and 80-85 for a short run. I love me some summer weather, but not while running ;)

4 Responses to “Monday Brain Exchange: Week 8”

  1. onelittlejill May 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    #1 is a great tip!!

    Preparing the night before is crucial for me. I work out 4 mornings a week and I have to pack my bags the night before.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 17, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I’m sure I’ll be starting my running early in the morning soon enough. I’m not sure what temps to make the crossover at yet though.

    And setting out your stuff the night before is CLUTCH.

  3. Kandi May 24, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I already wake up at 5am for work so there is NO possible way I could wake up earlier for a prework run. I guess I could go into work later but then I’d have to stay at work later… I’m not sure of my temperature limit but it tends to get warmer as I adjust to the crazy hot temps. Plus the temp doesn’t really matter as much to me as the humidity level.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Brain Exchange Week 9- Summer Racing « Finishing is Winning - May 24, 2010

    […] 9- Summer Racing Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange: Kera,  Darlene, Whitney, Kitzzy, Kim and […]

Leave a Reply

