Monday Brain Exchange: Week 7

10 May

Guh. Hello from sinus hell. Exciting and annoying weekend things to talk about… tomorrow. For now, brain exchange time!

Question: Do you listen to music when you work out?  When you race?  What are you top ten favorite songs to get pumped up to?

I listen to music… sometimes. It depends on a) my motivation, b) my mood, and c) if I remember to grab my iPod before hitting the road. I’ve been a forgetful fanny when it comes to taking my stuff out on the road with me lately. It’s no big deal. Well, it isn’t a big deal until I’m two miles in to a 5K tempo at 5:30am and I really need that extra motivation. Then I run to the gentle sounds of me cursing myself. Overall, I’ve found that I don’t need it. I’m actually really bad at updating my playlists. It wasn’t until late last year that I finally trimmed down my music library, eliminating all the random crap I acquired during college. Even now, I find myself running to slightly stale playlists because I just don’t remember to buy new songs. Oh, and I typically run with just one earbud in so I can hear what’s up around me.

When I race, it depends. If I’m with someone and it’s a short distance, I won’t bring music. If it’s a long distance, I’ll bring music whether or not I’m with someone else. Conversation works for a while, but at some point you may have to tune out the rest of the world and focus. I ran my half in March with music, but pulled out an earbud now and then since there was so much entertainment on the Disney grounds.

Top ten songs… ooh, this is a toughy. My top songs change like, every week. For now I’ll go with:

  1. The State of Massachusetts – Dropkick Murphys
  2. Everlong – Foo Fighters
  3. God’s Gonna Cut You Down – Johnny Cash
  4. U + Ur Hand – P!nk
  5. Untouched – The Veronicas
  6. Quixote – Bond (it starts off slow, but after 30 seconds, this song is auditory crack)
  7. The Pretender – Foo Fighters
  8. Major Tom – Shiny Toy Guns
  9. Come Down – Toad the Wet Sprocket
  10. I’ll Make A Man Out Of You* – Mulan Soundtrack
*Okay story time on this one: the day before my half in March, we were browsing around a store in Downtown Disney. This song came on and, no lie, I had to hold back some tears. It’s not like I’m a huge fan of the movie (I think maybe I saw it once), something about the song just hit me and I realized “oh my god I’m about to run my first half marathon.” It was an overall very moving moment for me. I went back to my hotel that night and immediately bought the song and added it to my race playlist. It actually started playing at a crucial time; mile 12, when my pace had slowed drastically due to muscle cramps. I will probably associate that song with that race for the rest of my life. And I’m okay with that.
5 Responses to “Monday Brain Exchange: Week 7”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 10, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    I usually listen to music every run or workout I do. That being said, sometimes I zone and don’t even notice the song playing anyways. I guess it’s kind of just there for back up…

  2. onelittlejill May 11, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    I love the story about your song. I have a super cheesey song by Rod Stewart on my playlist, but found it in the same way and it just pulled at my heart. And when it came time for my first 1/2, that song pulled me through. Great story!

  3. RunToTheFinish May 11, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    I go back and forth with my music usage. I really try to keep it for just hill work or speed work at this point because it will hype me up for those…the rest of the time I either have it off or listen to an audio book

    • Kera May 11, 2010 at 11:45 am #

      I’ve been thinking about using some audiobooks for long run days. I’ve had one unlistened to since… December? It may be time to listen :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Brain Exchange Week 8- Summer Running « Finishing is Winning - May 17, 2010

    […] Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange: Kim, Kitzzy, Suzy, Kera, Darlene, Jill and […]

Leave a Reply

