Slow Friday

30 Apr

It’s one of those days… it’s in the mid-60°s, phones are silent, and most of the weekly work is done. There was also very little traffic into the city today. People are definitely already in weekend mode!

On my way home from work, I stopped off at the Marathon Sports near me and picked up a new pair of sneakers… my Sauconys are approaching the 300 mile point, so I’m going to start alternating and hopefully wear my new shoes for Chicago. I’m increasingly curious about lightweight shoes, so I bought some Nike Free 5.0 v4. So far, I am in love. They aren’t bulky at all, and I’m a sucker for their design accents like the off-center laces. Love love love.

Unable to resist the call of new shoes, I set out for another 2×400, which soon became 4×400. I didn’t want to stop, but I knew that I needed to take it easy in shoes with less support. Maybe it was that crazy huge lunch I had, or the thrill of new sneakers, or both… but I ran negative splits!

Splits: 2:14, 2:09, 2:03, 1:55

For reals?! Yeah. And my heart rate only peaked at 194. I just want to run and run and run and have I mentioned that so far I love my Frees?

Last night I also decided to try out a recipe I made up earlier this week: Spinach and Artichoke Pasta Bake. So easy, you don’t even know.

Spinach and Artichoke Pasta Bake

INGREDIENTS:
10oz frozen spinach
14oz canned artichokes in brine
1 1/4c part-skim ricotta
1lb medium pasta (I used Barilla Plus penne)
1/4-1/2c low fat milk (varies based on how thick/thin you want the sauce)
garlic powder, salt, and black pepper
1/2c shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2c parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Get a pot of water on the stove, and defrost the spinach.

While the pasta boils, squeeze water out of the spinach and chop the artichokes into small pieces. Place spinach and artichokes into a bowl along with the ricotta cheese. Stir and add 1/4c milk and seasonings to taste. When the pasta is done, drain and add to the mixture. Toss to coat, adding more milk if needed.

Pour into a 9×13 baking dish and top with mozzarella and parmesan cheeses. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the cheese on top is bubbly and a bit browned.

Nutritional Info per Serving (serves 8)
Calories: 321
Total Fat: 8g (lots less if you eliminate some of the topping cheeses)
Cholesterol: 26mg
Sodium: 424mg
Total Carbohydrates: 41.2g
Dietary Fiber: 4.83g
Sugars: 4g
Protein: 16.18g

Overall, it has a pretty ideal balance of 55% carbs, 22% protein, and 23% fats. Sure, some of the fats are saturated from the cheese but shhhhh. It tastes very, very much like creamy spinach and artichoke dip, and it’s filling without being heavy. If you try it, let me know what you think!

I’m off to a short trip to NYC tomorrow. Have a fab weekend :)

One Response to “Slow Friday”

  1. J April 30, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Great job on the 400s! They really can be addicting! have a great weekend in NYC!

Leave a Reply

