Three Things Thursday

29 Apr

ONE

I reintroduced intervals to my regiment this morning! Starting things off lightly:

.75 mi warm up jog @ 9:30
2×400 (Split 1: 2:00, Split 2: 1:57)
.75 mi cool down @ 9:26

Aw yeah, my strength is coming BACK! I figure that I’ll increase the intervals each week and slowly add in some 800s and 1600s. I’m feeling so good, I may do another 2×400 tonight.

TWO

I signed up for a local 3.5 miler in May… and I’m doing it with my mom! You have to understand, my mom is not the most active person. And ever since I moved home after college, I’m trying to rope her in to creating a healthier lifestyle along with me. I already have her onto healthy snacks and we’ve gotten rid of most of the overprocessed crap that once sat on our shelves (she looooves Trader Joe’s now). But the active thing has always been a barrier. I told her about the race, and she sort of ignored me. I talked to her the next morning and she set her mind on an outright “no, I can’t do it yet…” I told her that I wasn’t expecting her to run, and I’d walk with her… she’d just have to keep up! I walk pretty durn quickly. Finally, she said okay. YAY! I’m hoping that she’ll feel so great after it that she’ll want to keep that activity level going.

THREE

Just look at my lunch today. LOOK AT IT. Salmon, broccoli, veggie & shrimp tempura, Cali roll, and rice. Keyboard shown for size comparison.

I ate it all. Including the miso soup not pictured because I ate it before I even took a picture. Oh my belly is going to burst. Those post-work intervals are looking more appealing than ever.

3 Responses to “Three Things Thursday”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 29, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Your lunch looks awesome. I wish I could eat that all during the day! But I believe if my stomach wouldn’t burst first, it would put me to sleep… lol

  2. Jeff April 29, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    That is definitely a nap in a box.

  3. onelittlejill April 30, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Nice interval work!

Leave a Reply

