It’s Getting Harder and Harder to Breathe

20 Apr

Hey, heart.

Screw you.

No, I don’t mean that… please don’t kill me. I just want you to stop spazzing so I can run more than a quarter mile without having a hammer in my chest.

Here’s a chart of the 0.5 miles I ran today (with two stops to test bpm):

I started my Garmin 2:30 before I started running, while I was sitting on my bed, finishing my Shuffle sync. I’ve been keeping an eye on my heart rate over the past few days, so I figured I would measure my heart rate from resting to walking to running. Oye.

I started off at 58 resting, then quickly jumped to 93 walking around and going downstairs. That second sharp dip you see right after 2:00 is just before I started running. The bottom of the dip is 106.

Within 30 seconds and an 8:00 pace, I was at 161. I slowed it down to a 9:00 pace, then a 10:00… wasn’t going down. Even when I brought my pace down to 10:30, it kept rising. I booked it over to the 0.25 mile point and stopped to check how quickly it went back down… 180 to 126 in 22 seconds. I started running again, a bit faster because hey what the hell, my heart is already jacked up on something, and I hit 172 in 24 seconds. I stopped again after my sprinting spree because I no longer felt strong in any part of my body. Not even half a mile… so frustrating, you don’t even know. I picked up the pace just so I could be back home.

I only topped off at 185 today, which is great in comparison to a week and a half ago, where I hit 206 and averaged 187 over a 3 mile, 9:18 av pace run.

The strength I feel in my legs, and my desire to keep going makes this whole thing… well, annoying. I don’t want to see any more doctors. I just want to run and not have my heart rate skyrocket in a matter of seconds.

I’m 23 years old. Why is this happening? What the crap?

5 Responses to “It’s Getting Harder and Harder to Breathe”

  1. Megan April 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Is this new or is it the norm (or have you just not thought about it before)? You could just have a higher MHR. Maybe do an MHR test and see just how high your HR does go, which might tell you if these spikes are normal.

    • Kera April 20, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

      I haven’t thought about it too much before. I just happened to wear an HRM on a run, and my running buddy was a nurse. I told her my heart rate and she was like “uhhhh that’s not right.” I’ve been freaked out since!

      • angryrunner April 23, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

        If I were you I’d wear it consistently for awhile to see if what the commenter above suggested is the case. It may look weird, but its helpful to put it into context.

        I mention that because I know my max is well over 200 (and I’m 30) and I have a relatively high resting HR. I know someone else who is far faster than me who has a max of something absurd like 220.

  2. nate April 20, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    exactly why i stopped training with a heart rate monitor… if the pumper explodes, i’ll stop.

  3. J April 22, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Well maybe go and get checked out by the doctor. That does seem really high.

Leave a Reply

