It must be my lucky day

13 Apr

Yesterday I woke up feeling… off. I don’t know how to describe it, but you probably know what I mean. It didn’t feel like a Monday, I didn’t get enough sleep, and my body was aching a bit from my two up-tempo runs this weekend. Then something fantastic happened.

For JetBlue’s 10th birthday, they sent some of their staff all over Boston with FREE flight vouchers. All you had to do was go to wherever they were with what they were asking for… like a scavenger hunt with a really awesome prize. They started off at City Hall, which is about 1.5-2 miles from me. No go, I’d never make it in time. Then they went here:

Ummm. Copley is only half a mile from my office. I walk to and from the T there every day.

I went over to our supply cabinet, threw a bunch of things on a countertop, took a picture with my phone, and BOOKED IT to Copley. I must have made it there in about 2.5-3 minutes. Copley is fairly large, so I looked around for where they were when I heard cheering. There was a large crowd in front of the Boston Public Library! Crap, I had to cross the traffic of Boylston St. Wait for it… wait for it… ALL CLEAR GO GO GO.

I made it over to the group and breathlessly showed my office supply photo to one of the JetBlue employees. I was given one of ~25 free vouchers, and took a few minutes to watch others sprint in for their shot at free airfare.

Yessss, sweet victory! Though my lungs and legs greatly disagreed with the sprinting I had just done (hey there pollen, my body hates you), it was worth it. So now I get to fly to any of JetBlue’s nonstop destinations. Decisions, decisions.

If this were one year ago, I might not have been able to run fast enough to get there in time to grab a voucher. Thanks, running!

8 Responses to “It must be my lucky day”

  1. Bobby April 13, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    best. monday. ever. <3
    i cant believe i was able to make it to the state house (.78 miles from my office, i measured) in as quickly as i did. and i literally JUST made it. they ran out easily less than a minute from that point. yayyy running.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 13, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Oh that is awesome! You just scored yourself a discounted vacation!

    (may I suggest how wonderful Chicago is at this time of year?)

  3. onelittlejill April 13, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    That is super awesome!!!!

  4. Bethany+Ryan April 13, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    your post it SOOO funny!! Ryan works near Copely and he tried to win a voucher too! he sprinted to the state house but didn’t make it in time. too funny that you were playing too!

    i emailed the race director of 13.1 “Boston,” but never heard back, they obviously dont care. 13.1 “Boston” will have an expo booth at the Boston Marathon Expo. I’m planning on talking to someone there. total bummer. I thought it would be like Boston’s Run to Remember. They are using Boston to get $$$ not fair!!! :-(

  5. J April 13, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    WOW that is totally awesome and totally worth it!

  6. Lacey April 14, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    oh my gosh what a fun idea! can’t believe you got one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats!!!

  7. alain April 15, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    GENIUS! hadn’t heard about this campaign but it’s GENIUS! congrats on winning… where ya’ headed?

    • Kera April 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

      I think I’ll be going down to Florida to visit my cousin :)

Leave a Reply

