A Surprising Pace and Discovery

2 Apr

Still having a lot to do at work, I opted to do my run after work instead of at lunch (I didn’t get to lunch until 2, so I would have burnt out horribly). Oh man, I’m glad I waited. I did a lakerun 5K and even though the wind was TOTALLY working against me I made great time:

Distance: 3.15 miles
Time: 30:28
Pace: 9:40

Considering I intended on taking it easy and keeping my pace around 10 minutes, I’m pretty pleased! And although I didn’t have a PR, I FELT a lot better than when I PRed with my tough running group back in January. I’ll give this 5K a Personal Best ;)

Of course, I had a cramp in my left foot when I finished. This time the muscle was actually twitching, so I knew it was a sodium issue. When I got home and got ready to shower, I must have wiped my mouth across my arm or something but HOLY CRAP. Is that sweat on me, or ocean water? Maybe I need to eat something crazy salty a short time before running, because it seems like it’s all leaving my body while I run. Good thing I’m in pre-training mode right now. I’ll use this time to start experimenting with more cramping solutions… Gatorade Endurance, salt packets, Shot Bloks while running any distance, etc.

In other news, two of my coworkers are making breakfast for the office today! We have a full kitchen (we’re in an old apartment), so we’re having pancakes, eggs, and bacon. Then I get a free lunch at a nearby restaurant! Add in the amazing 70° weather, and it’s going to be a fabulous Friday!

3 Responses to “A Surprising Pace and Discovery”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 2, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I’m thinking I’m really going to have to take initiative in starting “office breakfasts”. That sounds like an awesome way to start the work day!

  2. Wendy April 2, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    Found you through Tall Mom’s monthly mile spreadsheet…Congrats on going for Chicago. I did it this last fall and LOVED it!

    Hope your training goes well!

  3. onelittlejill April 2, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Great pace- keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

