Monday… uh… Wednesday Brain Exchange!

31 Mar

I’m two days behind on this. In my defense, I didn’t hear about this replacement TIaRT until yesterday via Lacey’s blog.

Jill over at Finishing is Winning kicked off a new weekly question on Monday, similar to our long lost TIaRT. I was all set and ready to participate the week after the very last one, when it mysteriously ceased operating. Saaaad times :( But now we’re back to happy times with the new Monday Brain Exchange! Onto the question:

Topic: All About Blogs!

Question:  What/Who influenced you to start a blog?  Where did you get your blog title?  How long have you been blogging?

I was influenced to start this blog in two ways. 1. I decided that I needed a place for support, advice, and accountability during my half marathon training. After looking at other running blogs, it seemed as though a blog would be a great place to reach out to others and exchange ideas (side note: it’s totally helped!). 2. My friend Brian, who has been a bit absent from the internet lately, wrote in great length about his training, his progress, and how he trimmed himself down from the 300 pound dude he was in college (Bakahhh Hall 4lyf).

Running was still really basic for me. I had gone from being pretty inactive in 2008, to starting the c25k program in December 2008, completing my first 5k in February 2009, and making the decision to run my first half marathon in March 2010. As someone that was never a fast runner, and never had a lot of the tools to be a runner (though that’s VERY different now), it was all about putting one foot in front of the other and pushing through.

I’ve been blogging since 2007, but I’ve only been at this URL since October 2009. I feel more connected to this blog than any others I’ve owned, and it’s helped me progress much more than any other writing I’ve done. The first time I hit 30 views in a day, I was ecstatic. I actually feel like I’m a part of this online community now, and I love it!

Tonight I’m getting back in to action with a big night of strength and cardio. Pretty much the entire Northeast is under water, so it’s been difficult to find the motivation to get out and do anything. SUNSHINE TOMORROW! Oh I can’t wait. Running outside will be a must.

Back to work, everyone! Enjoy your Wednesday :)

4 Responses to “Monday… uh… Wednesday Brain Exchange!”

  1. Lacey March 31, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    lol, i was a day behind :) i actually enjoy the delayed response. more days to love the responses :)

    hooray for feeling connected to your blog! i love that feeling. i really like putting energy into it b/c i truly believe it shows and is reciprocated. i love the look/feel of your blog. can’t believe you started way back in ’07!!!! that was awhile ago!

    • Kera March 31, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      My old blog was nothing like this one! It was more of a general brain dump… sometimes about marketing, sometimes running, sometimes politics… there was no focus. But it was good practice :)

  2. onelittlejill April 1, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Thanks for playing! Through just the first week I found 4 new awesome blogs :) It doesn’t matter what day you do it…I am just happy to have blogger playing along!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Brain Exchange Week 2 « Finishing is Winning - April 5, 2010

    […] participants in last weeks Brain Exchange:  Jill, Whitney, Kim, Darlene, Lacey, Kittzy, Suzy, Kera   (If I missed you, let me know- sometimes links are funny and don’t work and I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

