Brain Dump

30 Mar

As I said the other day, I have a lot to say, but little time to write it out nicely. So here’s my brain dump of awesomeness.

RUNNING

I went out with a new lululemon running group in the area. Our group is planning on doing a 5k together in May, so every Saturday we’ve planned on running about 3 miles. This past Saturday, it was SO COLD. Freakin’ 30 degrees or so. So there were three of us in total, including the run leader. None of us wore a Garmin, so we just sort of ran. We kept it easy at about a 10 minute pace. After 15 minutes we all still felt really good, so we kept going. We ended up running for almost an hour! I went on MapMyRun and estimated about 5.5 miles. My ITB didn’t even get sore until about 45 minutes in. That’s a huge improvement over earlier in the week! I’m already really excited about this week’s run, especially since it’s going to be in the 60s this time.

YOGA

I’ve mentioned it a few times now, but I’m incorporating a lot more cross and strength training into my regiment this time around. My gym offers a “gentle yoga” class on Sunday evenings, which I figured would be a perfect way to end the week and improve flexibility. Gentle? It’s Tuesday morning and my hamstrings are still a bit sore from the class! But hey, it’s obviously working muscles I need to strengthen. Oh! And by the end of the class, I had ZERO ITB pain. My right knee was nagging me all day, and the class seemed to stretch all the right muscles to make it go away.

REST

Because of my jump in mileage on Saturday and the yoga class on Sunday, I’ve been taking it easy and taking it slow. Sore muscles = rest time. I have a whole two months before my training officially starts, so I can take some time right now. Also, the weather has been absolutely miserable the last few days, which isn’t giving me any motivation to get out and be active.

RECIPES

Naan pizza. Make it for dinner tonight. Unless you’re Jewish. Then wait until next week.

I bought some plain naan bread, loaded it with toppings, baked it, and hooray quick pizza! Instead of using sauce, I decided to use up some extra spinach I have, so I made a spinach pesto (1 cup spinach, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 1/4 cup parmesan, 1-2 garlic cloves… put in food processor, blend!). Woah it was yummy. It was a super fast and easy way to add a bit more greens into my day. In all, the pizza had: spinach pesto, mozzarella cheese, sauteed mushrooms, some leftover ground turkey, edamame, corn, sun dried tomatoes, more mozzarella.

The edamame and corn were on the pizza because earlier in the day I also made a tomato, corn, and edamame salad. You mix them all together with a bit of olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, and salt and pepper… that’s it! I found some beautiful yellow tomatoes at the grocery store. After sitting in the oil/lemon dressing overnight, they actually became translucent and they look like little lemon jelly candies. It’s a really yummy salad, and takes very little effort.

Finally, I also made some chewy granola bars. After everything I put in them, they’re really more of a meal bar than a granola bar. Oats, almond butter, honey, dried fruit, almonds, sunflower seeds, flax seeds… I’m pretty sure these can satisfy hunger for a long time.

I think my brain is empty now. Time to refill and go to work!

One Response to “Brain Dump”

  1. J March 30, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    I love yoga, it helps my hips and my IT! Glad it is working for you too! I find that I need to the class to get me to do the yoga otherwise I will not do it alone at home!

Leave a Reply

