The Most Famous of Finish Lines

19 Mar

It’s yet another beautiful day in Boston; sunny skies and 60°F. Although the sun is strong enough to make it feel muuuuch warmer. I decided to go on a short walk after lunch. This was when I realized that wearing a light sweater today was a mistake. But that’s besides the point.

What I’m really here to talk about is this:

What looks like a grubby smear of bad graffiti on the road right now will in one month be one of the world’s most famous finish lines. Yup, that’s what the finish line of the Boston Marathon looks like almost every other day of the year.

While I was passing by, I saw a man standing on top of it, looking down. As I got closer to snap the above photo, he brought his head up, looked forward, made the sign of the cross and blew the finish line a kiss. Then he noticed me there.

“Looks like we’re getting a new coat of paint soon, huh?”
“Just one more month.”
He beams. “I can’t wait to cross it.”

To many Bostonians, it’s a painted strip of road that causes the city to shut down and create crazy traffic once a year. But to the BQers, it’s like the grail of running.

Maybe someday :)

6 Responses to “The Most Famous of Finish Lines”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    I wish I could go watch! I’m sure it’s amazing to watch people finish…

    • Kera March 22, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

      Fun fact: I’ve lived in the Boston area for almost 24 years, and I’ve never actually been at the finish line. It’s a zoo! Hopefully I’ll be working there this year :)

  2. auntie nancy March 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    This gave me chills! Nothing will compare to the feeling of crossing that finish line! It is amazing and the crowd makes it even more amazing! Like no other finish line I have ever crossed in my life!!

    • Kera March 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Thank you! I’m so glad it made you remember your finish :)

  3. Stephanie Walter March 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    What a cool post! Thanks! Makes Boston seem that much more awesome..and something that maybe someday a medicore runner like myself would even start to think about.
    Thanks for the pic!

    • Kera March 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      Thanks! And all it takes is a little bit of motivation (well, and lots of preparation!) until you’re ready to sign up for a huge race :)

Leave a Reply

