Three (Four?) Things Thursday

18 Mar

ONE

Ohmygoshohmygoshohmygosh. Guys. It’s going to be 71°F here. 71. Joy and bliss and all of that. Yes I said I was going to take a little break from running to work on strength and flexibility, but do I need to repeat the temperature once more? I am most definitely going for a run after work.

TWO

Maybe I’m weird for this, but I’m horrible at just getting into bed and going to sleep. More often than not, I’ll want to squeeze some last-minute reading or research on whatever I’m interested at that moment just before I sleep. This means using my laptop in bed. And very often, falling asleep in the middle of reading a sentence. However, sometimes my brain is so wired on a topic that I’m up until 11:30 or midnight. That time does not work well with my desired wake-up time of 5:30am for morning yoga and strength. So in addition to working on improving my base for running, I’m also going to create a sort of “calm and focus” time at night where no computers or anything are allowed.

THREE

The latest running seminar I attended on Monday night was all about nutrition for runners. Of course, I was glued to the presentation for the whole night. I love that stuff. After the presentation, I talked to the nutritionist about the cramping I had during the half. I told him that I had Powerade at pretty much every water stop, and was well hydrated, so I couldn’t understand why I was cramping so badly. His answer? Regular Gatorade and Powerade don’t have enough mid-run electrolytes to be effective! At least not for me.

So I’m going to get myself a giant tub of Gatorade Endurance (also used during the Chicago Marathon) and start using that. I’ve also picked up a few tubes of nuun’s new product, U- natural hydration. They’re just like regular nuun tablets; they dissolve in 16oz of water. But these ones are weaker than their normal tablets, and are designed for light or everyday activities: yoga, walking, etc. I picked up the Lemon Chai and Tangerine Ginger flavors and I loooove them! They’re a great way to give a little pep to your water.

shh I’m sneaking in a number FOUR

Attention all runners in the Greater Boston area: this Monday night starting at 7pm, the lululemon athletica store at the Burlington Mall will be hosting their last running seminar. They’ll also be giving away photos and issues of Runner’s World signed by Kara Goucher! This event is totally free, so what’s to lose?

9 Responses to “Three (Four?) Things Thursday”

  1. RunToFinish March 18, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    aww wish I lived near a lululemon!!

    on the smoothies, you really don’t taste the spinach and it definitely helps get in a few more greens. Hmm not sure exactly how many ounces my smoothies are

    • Kera March 18, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

      I’ll definitely have to pick up some extra greens on my next grocery trip. Hopefully I’ll like it :)

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 18, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I used to be so bad about #2 as well. And then, within the last year, I’ve kept the lap top and tv out of the bedroom completely. I really don’t even spend that much time in the bedroom except for when I’m sleeping… I’ve noticed it helps.

    • Kera March 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      I’m so tempted to do that… my brain is constantly going, going, going that I’m like OH WAIT LET ME LOOK THIS UP. And I really need to be sleeping. I’m going to start turning everything off at 10pm; 58 minutes to go!

  3. Lacey March 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    oh wow!!! i should go to that!!! tough on a monday night. are you going???

    i also CANNOT fall asleep. actually i’m incredibly sleep deprived right now, it’s been the worst 3 nights in a row EVER for me. can’t fall asleep until 2am and i actually almost started crying the second night. last night i was just like EH guess it’s just what it is. gahhh. i need to fall asleep. if you figure this one out let me know ASAP.

    but still, i’m happy. and the weather has 100% to do with that!

    • Kera March 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      I’ll be there! It’d be super fun to see you :)

  4. Erica March 18, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I wish I lived close enough to attend I bet it is a really great seminar. I am bad about staying up googling or reading blogs until I just about pass out with my computer on my lap and pay the price in the morning so your not alone.

    • Kera March 18, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

      They’ve been really helpful at the seminars. Although I knew a good amount of info going in, I’ve definitely learned some things.

      And tonight: computer off at 10pm!

  5. nate March 28, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    i’ve used endurolytes to stave off any dehydration related cramps on 100+ mile rides. they do the trick.

    http://www.hammernutrition.com/products/endurolytes.elt.html?navcat=fuels-energy-drinks

    the hammer gels (jug size to refill your bottles) also work well. gluten free and vegan, too!

Leave a Reply

