Magical knee braces and splendiferous food

3 Mar

Was it the knee brace? Was it the rest? I don’t know… but my knee doesn’t hurt at all right now.

I wanted to pick up a brace for the race, just as a safety net. When I got to the drug store, there were the usual suspects: braces that strapped on with velcro, ones with a hole in the front for the patella, knee straps, etc. I’ve never been a fan of velcro braces, and I really don’t like patella cutouts. I found one that was just a few dollars more expensive, but looked to be worth it.

It’s a compression knee brace in the Futuro Infinity line that slides on and is pretty inconspicuous under clothing. It also has a gel ring (covered in soft fleece-like material) around the patella, which was both stabilizing and comfortable. There are side stabilizers as well, which lightly limit movement, but aren’t so tough that you can’t walk comfortably. I wore it for a good 10 hours before I felt the desire to adjust it or take it off.

This morning, my knee feels awesome. No pain whatsoever. Maybe it was the rest. Maybe it was the brace. Maybe both? Anyway, next time you’re looking for a brace for your knee, ankle, or wrist, I highly recommend the Futuro Infinity line.*

*I was not paid or contacted to write this review.

Other Thangs

This has been a busy, busy week. 3/4 days this week I have not/will not get home until after 9pm. I’ll probably be home by 7 tomorrow, but I still have to pack for Friday! Leeeaving on a jet plaaaane.

Last night I went to dinner at a new-ish restaurant called Vlora. I didn’t have a camera, so no food photos, but the food was amazing! I ordered sea scallops, which I haven’t had in a long time. They were so perfectly seared and delicious. There are few things I love more than Mediterranean food. Oh Mediterranean region… I will visit you in person some day.

Speaking of Mediterranean Food…

Have you guys read about the Mediterranean “Diet?” I say “diet” because it’s not a “diet plan” as we all know it. Rather, it’s a Mediterranean-based food pyramid with rules I can really get behind.

  1. Meats and Sweets (Less Often)
  2. Poultry and Eggs (Moderate Portions; every two days or weekly), Cheese and Yogurt (Moderate Portions daily to weekly)
  3. Fish and Seafood (Often, at least two times per week)
  4. Fruits, Vegetables, Grains (mostly whole), Olive Oil, Beans, Nuts, Legumes and Seeds, Herbs and Spices (Base every meal on these foods)
  5. Be physically active; Enjoy Meals with Others
  6. Wine (in moderation)
  7. Drink water

Umm helloooo? That looks like the perfect balance to me! Forget the USDA Food Pyramid, I am getting on this train. I would gladly eat fish 2+ times per week. And I sort of love that grains, fruits, legumes, and veggies are all lumped together. It’s always bothered me that legumes, meat, poultry, and fish are in one food category in our pyramid; they’re not the same at all! I know, I know… it’s the “protein” category. But I think we should be beyond the point of categorizing our foods just based on carbs, calcium, protein, and sugar.

Excuse me, I’m off to dream about a wonderful platter of broiled fish and roasted veggies.

4 Responses to “Magical knee braces and splendiferous food”

  1. Lacey March 3, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    i really liked that they included “eating/enjoying meals together”… !

    restaurant looks awesome!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 3, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Yeah, I like that bottom part of the pyramid, too. And I like to think I’ve adopted some of the habits represented in it already- the USDA pyramid can suck it!

  3. Yasmin March 3, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Omg, SO happy your knee is better!!!! You know… Maybe it was that extra piece of dark chocolate… (;

  4. Christy March 3, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    I’m glad the knee is doing better! Some day I will experience the Mediterranean in person. I love they way they eat. Fresh, whole foods! The Mediterranean “diet” goes along with the book I read, The Blue Zones. Gotta love that they put eating with others and wine in moderation in their food pyramid :)

Leave a Reply

