I’m having an extra piece of chocolate

1 Mar

I’m finishing up my lunch now, munching on a 0.2 oz piece of chocolate. It’s my mid-day treat.

The other week, I set off on a 10 mile run and made it 7.16 miles before a weird-feeling knee and bad foot cramps sent me limping back to my car.

The foot cramps are gone since I drastically upped my water and sodium intake. But that weird knee feeling has turned into knee pain. I tried running on the treadmill yesterday and only made it about 3 miles before having to switch to the elliptical. Walking is a chore, so I bought myself a compression knee brace and I brought my velcro wraparound ice pack with me to work today. I’m pretty sure it’s an IT band issue, and I’ve scheduled a sports massage this week. A massage cured my hip pain back in December… hopefully this will clear up the ITB tightness.

Instead of this week being filled with last strength workouts and tempo runs, my taper week will involve rest, ice, etc and confining myself to the elliptical once more. Hopefully staying off of it most of this week will leave me alright for the race. I’m also hoping this compression brace will help me out while I’m running.

In the meantime, I’m having an extra piece of chocolate.

11 Responses to “I’m having an extra piece of chocolate”

  1. Christy March 1, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Chocolate cake cures all! I have had IT band issues. Stretching, icing, and the foam roller has helped mine ALOT! Good luck :)

    • Kera March 1, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

      I love/hate the foam roller. It’s great, but I sometimes totally wimp out and stop using it because it hurts, haha.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 1, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    I am munching on chocolate as well. But that’s because I can’t resist it and a coworker brought in two 3-lb boxes of it into the office today. That is no lie. ugh…

    • Kera March 1, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

      I almost always reach for dark chocolate, but whenever my boss visits from London he brings a huge bag of Cadbury milk chocolates. And they sit right behind my desk. And I eat them. Yum.

  3. Lacey March 1, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    def a good idea with the massage. i need to go get one soon. i actually bought a couple on groupon at some point last year (you have to use groupon if you don’t- such great discounts). so i just need to schedule one. hopefully your pain goes away soon!!!!!!! and ice= will def help. i love the wrap around pack. cvs???!!! :)

    • Kera March 1, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      I looove Groupon! I got certificates from them too (Elements?) but I’ve been going to a salon/spa in Boston ever since I got a $50 for 1 hour deal and the masseuse worked out pretty much every problem I had. He’s my go-to guy now :)

  4. J March 1, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    I love cake. But back to the point – hope your leg feels better soon. Have you tried foam rolling? I hope the massage helps!

    • Kera March 2, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      I’m a wimp when it comes to foam rolling. I love it, but I can never allow myself to put enough weight down to really get a good stretch. So sometimes I pay other people to beat the crap out of my muscles :)

  5. Yasmin March 1, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Hope you feel better sweety! Enjoy that chocolate (:

    • Kera March 2, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      Maybe it was the chocolate, maybe it was the rest… but my knee feels awesome today! Hopefully I’ll be good to go this weekend. Thanks love :)

Leave a Reply

