The Calm Before the Storm

26 Feb

The Northeast is being pummeled by storms again. Sheesh. It rained all day yesterday, and the winds picked up horribly at night. I heard they reached 85mph in some areas! I was woken up around 11pm last night by the wind, and looked outside and right then, the sky flashed bright green. Petrified that an electrical surge would happen (and somehow affect my fish tank and kill my lil betta), I unplugged just about everything in my room.

This morning I discovered that green lightning isn’t lightning at all. Rather, it’s the light from power lines shorting out with the ground as they fell and the flashes were being reflected off the wet ground into the rain of the storm and diffused (from here). Now I’m REALLY glad I unplugged things!

So it was either that, or the dark lord is among us.

This morning was a bit different. Even though today’s forecast calls for more rain/snow/wind, there was a beautiful sunrise, and the sunshine was strong for a long time. Quite a calm before the storm. But they sky is greying once again. Boo. (Holy crap it just started pouring out of nowhere)

We’re in for a whole weekend of rain and snow, so it looks like my last long run will be done indoors. Then again this is New England, so the forecast could do a 180.

Discount Shopping yaaaay

Who doesn’t love a good discount? I’ve recently discovered the wonders of private shopping sites, where you have to be invited in to be able to shop. I was able to get in to a few, and I’d like to share the sites with all of you too :)

Click here to sign up for RueLaLa (mostly women’s and home goods)
Click here to sign up for Gilt (women’s, men’s, travel, and home goods)

Each brand is only available for a limited time, so they’re sort of evil if you’re an impulse buyer. But they’re also great to keep an eye on in case something you’ve been wanting for a while is on sale (i.e. the other day RueLaLa had a bunch of Cuisinart things on sale for a huge discount).

Happy Friday!

2 Responses to “The Calm Before the Storm”

  1. Yasmin February 27, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    So… I’ve been living under a rock for the past two weeks, and I just got caught up with the blogworld and I’m so so sad I missed your youbar giveaway ):
    Maybe I’ll place an order with your discount though (:

    Omg, and YOUR RACE. It’s practically HERE. And um, I hope you know that given retarded ankle, I am totally living vicariously through you at this point.

    • Kera March 1, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

      Haha I was actually a bit surprised when I saw no response from you on the giveaway ;)

Leave a Reply

