Never Too Late To Learn

23 Feb

Last night I attended a running seminar held at a nearby Lululemon Athletica about running injuries and prevention. The class was led by a physical therapist, and went over the difference between muscles, tendons and ligaments, common runner injuries, and how to treat and prevent injuries from happening. I’m a huge nerd and read and read and read about a topic until I either a) am really comfortable with it, or b) I get bored. So I’ve read a lot about running and injuries… heck, I’ve had enough injuries from my dancing days, I just might have hit each muscle group. I was familiar with a good amount of topics, but there was a good amount thrown in that I wasn’t aware of before.

Shin splints: did you know these aren’t caused by the muscle in your shin, but a muscle deep in the calf called the ‘soleus?’

If the soleus is too tight, it can pull back on the bone and cause pain out front. One way to stretch out the soleus is to do a form of a regular calf stretch, but bending the knee at least 30°.

I’ve done this stretch before this class, not knowing what its real purpose was, and thought it was stupid. I couldn’t feel a stretching in my calf, so I stopped doing it. But the stretch goes a lot deeper than a regular wall stretch, and I’m pretty sure a tight soleus is one of the causes of my crazy foot pain the other week.

The physical therapist also went over IT band issues. Since mine is acting up a bit, I was all like HOORAY! She did some foam roller demos, as well as a couple standing/floor leaning stretches.

Overall, I enjoyed the class. Many of the attendees were just starting out (after the seminar series is over, the group is starting a running club that’ll build up to a 5K), but the info was useful to beginners and veterans alike. One of the seminar organizers even had some questions, and she was a highly seasoned runner.

Hey hey hey listen

The YouBar Giveaway ends tomorrow night! Get yo entries in!

Happy Tuesday, everyone. I’m going to get back to enjoying my Alphabet Juice (apples, beets and carrots). Yum!

2 Responses to “Never Too Late To Learn”

  1. Lacey February 23, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    yeah my calves are always the part of my body that bother me most by far. and i have had shin probs before, too. not surprised they are related . thanks for the info! good to know this stuff.

  2. J February 24, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Sounds like a fun class. I didn’t know that about stretching the calf but it makes sense!

Leave a Reply

