Let the Taper Begin

22 Feb

Yes, I skipped Motivational Monday today. No, I’m not proud. In my defense, I went on a Red Sox pub crawl this weekend, so I didn’t have a whole lot of time to research today’s motivational figure ;)

ahhh I'm floating

This week is the start of my pre-race taper. I had my final long run scheduled for yesterday, but some IT band problems delayed that (indefinitely?). Unf. It’s RICE time for me and my knee.

However, I was able to drag my butt out of bed at 4:45 this morning to do a 3.5 miler on the elliptical. It’s no running/treadmill, but I’m still moving. I’m afraid to push myself because I don’t want to be hurt on race day. I know I won’t have a spectacular finishing time, but I want to complete this running. I’m sticking with 3-4 milers this week, a 6 miler this weekend, then 2-3 milers next week. Then… 13.1! GAH! I’ve completed 10 miles, so I’m not too concerned about not having done the 12 miles. It’s not my ideal scenario, but I can make it work.

Also, it’s supposed to snow/rain alllll week long here, so I’m getting very excited for Floridian weather.

ew gross

Tonight I’m going to the first in a series of free running seminars in the area, and fortunately this one is about injuries and how to prevent and deal with them. The speaker is a physical therapist, so I’m hoping she’ll be able to give me a few pointers on rushing along this IT band stuff. Saying “shoo, go away!” isn’t working as well as I’d hoped.

8 Responses to “Let the Taper Begin”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Your weather looks about the same as ours does in Chicago… grossness all around.

    And instead of “shoo”, I would suggest a stronger word of the cursing persuasion? I used them often to get my leg conditioned and back into running form… ha.

    Gotta love a good pub crawl…

    • Kera February 22, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Haha oh I think the curse words, and sometimes I want to shout them mid-run.

      I am SO ready for springtime. Winter yuckness go away already!

  2. Libby February 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Are you perhaps running the Princess Half?!?!? I am supposed to be running, but we’ll see if my hip is feeling alright :( I hope the IT band gets better!

    • Kera February 22, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

      I am running the Princess Half! Thanks for the well-wishes on my IT band.

      What’s wrong with your hip? Have you tried using the Galloway run/walk method? Maybe I’ll see you there :)

  3. Lacey February 22, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    what a fabulous photo!!! sounds like a lot of fun!!! i could handle florida right about now… heard we are getting snow.

    • Kera February 22, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      hahaha thank you. I was demonstrating proper “heel click” technique after the 9th inning.

      And yes, soooo much more snow. Not pleased. I’ll send some sunshine and happiness your way if it’s still gross up here next week.

  4. The Vegan Anti-Hero February 23, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Loving the red sox/red shoes combo. Very inspired.

    And good idea holding back on the running – the last thing you need is to be too injured to complete your race. All your real training is behind you, so you’ll be golden!

    • Kera February 23, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Thanks, missy.

      I’m surprisingly calm about my lack of long distance. A good sign of preparation? Or slow insanity? Who knows!

Leave a Reply

