Input Needed: Hosting a Giveaway

10 Feb

Dear Blogland,

I love your giveaways. Even if I don’t enter them all, I really appreciate the work that goes in to them. I’d like to start hosting my own, but I have a few questions:

  1. When you ran your first giveaway, did you contact the company for products in exchange for publicity/reviews?
  2. What was your readership like when you first started?
  3. If you paid/pay for your giveaways, how much money do you set aside for the prizes?

I already have my first product in mind (no telling yet!), and I’m in love love love. So I really want to share it with all of you in the best way possible.

I love tips/tricks/pointers more than Heidi Montag loves plastic surgery.

Thanks :)

-Kera

6 Responses to “Input Needed: Hosting a Giveaway”

  1. Tricia February 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    hey girl, I’ll try to answer your questions. The giveaways I host are a mix, some are from companies I’ve contacted and recently companies have started contacting ME. If you want to review a product, it never hurts to send the company an email with your blog info and request.

    And I think I had about 300 “followers” when I first started giveaways, but I reviewed food products when my follower count was closer to 150. Some companies want to know how many hits your site gets (which is way higher than subscribership) and for that I’ve set up an account with sitemeter.com.

    I’ve never done a giveaway that I’ve had to pay for the product, I’d love to but simply can’t afford it. However, occasionally I do pay to ship the stuff out but I find its best to have the company do it for you.

    Good luck, and I look forward to some great giveaways!

    send me an email if you have anymore questions
    enduranceisntonlyphysical@gmail.com

    Tricia

    • Kera February 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks so much! Hah yeah I’m nowhere near the number of “followers” to have companies start contacting me… yet ;) That’s so awesome that they come to you.

      I’ll definitely just work on building up my personal reviews and hope that gets me somewhere. This blog is still super young, so there’s time!

      Thanks again :)

  2. Mel- Tall Mom on the Run February 10, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    You are funny! My first giveaway was a handmade beaded bracelet. I had about 25 followers at the time. To start out I would not spend more than $15 on the Giveaway and make sure that you factor in shipping costs.

    If you are interested in a product contact the company, you never know :)

    Good luck!

    • Kera February 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

      Ohmygosh I didn’t even think of homemade stuff! My mom is a huge knitter, maybe I can hand off a cute hat/scarf set!

      Thank you!

  3. Lacey February 10, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    oooooooooooooh! i’m excited to find out what you are in lurrrve with :) my first/only giveaway was my blog-iversary. it doubled as a caption for a tshirt contest that i made for me and my siblings and that my sister and i wore in her first 10k race. i gave away a goodie-pack packed in a shoe-box :) boston cookies, clif bars, candy, etc. and whoopie pies in honor of elliot. that made it really expensive cuz they were speciality whoopies, but considering it was the only giveaway i did all year, i was happy to make someone else happy :) in the future i wish i could work with companies/products to give away things, but i’m not sure how to do that! i don’t like asking for things :)

  4. Christy February 11, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I just did my first giveaway. I contacted the company and they were awesome! My blog is only about 2 months (maybe) old, so I don’t have hundreds of followers, at least I don’t think I do :). Good luck, it’s fun.

Leave a Reply

