Winter. Farmers. Market.

9 Feb

Can I tell you how overjoyed I am?

On Friday night I found out about the Wayland Winter Farmers Market, and decided that I 100% had to go the next morning when it was open. My life has been devoid of farmers markets since November. Tough life, right? But I truly missed them.

This particular market was inside the greenhouses of a garden center, so it was nice and toasty warm in there. What the market lacked in fresh produce (I mean, there’s only so much you can harvest in New England in the winter) it made up for in some fantastic pre-made products. I’m talking 9-veggie salsa, homemade hummus and pita, fresh sweet potato gnocchi… so glorious. Just look at these watermelon radishes:

They were also having “Wool Day” that day. My mom is an avid knitter, so she was in love with all the homespun wool yarn/scarves/socks. Needless to say, she loves farmers markets now, too.

A Bit o’ Running

Sunday was a busy day for me, so I had to do my long run in the morning. I also wasn’t feeling super, so I decided to go on the treadmill so I could stop at any time and not be stranded in sub-freezing temperatures.

Holy. Moly. The gym was crowded. Every treadmill was taken, and almost every elliptical was taken. Wooo looks like I’m doing my long run on an elliptical.

  • Distance: 8 miles
  • Time: 1:11:52

A great time, but I didn’t feel that great about the run itself. I’m itching to be back on the road, but both coldness and illness is stopping me.

Moral of the story: go away, winter.

6 Responses to “Winter. Farmers. Market.”

  1. Marlene February 9, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I wish we had a winter farmer’s market nearby! Sounds like a GREAT find. Sweet potato gnocchi? Hello Yummy!

  2. Yasmin @ Pretty Little Steps February 10, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Omg I’m SO jealous of that market! Isaw your tweets earlier too.

    And that’s a long time to be on any indoor machine. Which may end up being my fate this weekend… :(

  3. Amy February 10, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    oh oh oh- can I just tell you how delicious sweet potato gnocchi is??!! I have some from the organic section of my grocery store that I can’t wait to make! I’m all giddy now… it’s either talking about my love of gnocchi or the afternoon cup of coffee.

    For the sake of this post, let’s pretend it’s the gnocchi…

    And I can’t wait for the Farmer’s markets to start again around me!

  4. The Vegan Anti-Hero February 11, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    How have I not known about this?? I want to go! Too bad for me I work on the weekends but for this I may have to make time.

    And sweet potato anything is DELICIOUS.

    • Kera February 11, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      It only started back in January, and this is the first year they’ve ever done it. So right now it’s one of those things you don’t know about unless a) you live in the area, or b) you’re specifically Googling for winter farmers markets. It goes from 10-1 every week, definitely try to find time at least once.

  5. Marisol Ida Varinia May 31, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I haven’t checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are really great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend. :)

Leave a Reply

