Three Things Thursday

4 Feb

ONE

Yesterday’s double header was fan-freakin’-tastic! Well, aside from the 4:45am wake up call. I had an 8 mile tempo run scheduled for mid-week, but with my commute I don’t have the time for that… nor do I have the patience to do 8 miles indoors all at once. I broke the tempo up into 4 miles in the morning and 4 miles at night. I also chose to do these on the elliptical since my ankle was nagging me a bit.

Tempo Part 1 (5:00 am)
Level 4
Distance: 4 miles
Time: 33:46

Tempo Part 2 (6:00 pm)
Level 4
Distance: 4 miles
Time: 33:20

What the frickety frick? I’ve never moved that fast for that duration. I don’t move that fast when I do speed work. If only I could translate my elliptical pace into running pace, all would be right with the world.

TWO

Since I’m staying a bit late at work tonight, I decided to get a few errands done before heading in to the office. I stopped by City Sports and tried on a pair of Vibram Five Fingers (I would have snapped a photo but the salesperson stayed right next to me and that would have been awkward turtles). Aside from a few issues getting my left foot in there, I have to say… they were pretty comfortable. The spreading of my toes was a bit weird to see in the shoes, but overall I felt very firm and grounded. I tried on a pair that were like slip-ons, but the KSOs seem to be the best for outdoors (there’s mesh on top, so it’s harder for dirt or pebbles to get in the shoes). Maybe there’s a pair of these in my future? I might try to get to Marathon Sports this week to do another fitting before buying any new shoes.

THREE

One of my friends won a Tiki Party at a pub near my office! (hence why I’m staying late, I’m working until that begins). A free buffet, drink specials, and some giveaways. Sounds like a good time! I’m excited to see some people I haven’t seen in a while :)

Happy Thursday, everyone! FOCUS!

7 Responses to “Three Things Thursday”

  1. Lacey February 4, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    niiiiiiiiiiice double! two tempos?? that’s a lot. usually my double days will be an easy and a moderate/hard. way to really show up/be there twice in one day.

    tikki party?! omg sounds awesome. where can i win one of those?!

  2. The Vegan Anti-Hero February 4, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Two tempos?? You’re CRAZY girl. Yea, I just said “crazy girl”. I’m a loser like that but how could you break that up? That’s more painful than all at once. I’m totally impressed at your commitment.

  3. Yasmin @ Pretty Little Steps February 4, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Holy crap, YOUR TIMES!!!!

    *obviously* your body is thanking you for listening to it (:

    fantastic job!

  4. Tricia February 4, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Great job on the runs!

  5. Amy February 4, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Thursday night drinking… I feel like I need to bring that back into my life. Sooner than later.

  6. Christy February 5, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Great idea on breaking up the indoor workouts! I often forget that option…..duh!

  7. Tall mom February 5, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Good work with the double tempos!! If I had to run in the morning i would not do it.

    Vibrams are all over bloggy land…not sure I will EVER make it there. But I like hearing about others..

Leave a Reply

