Motivation Monday: Row for Water

1 Feb

Some of you seemed to enjoy that Ryan Hall/Josh Cox video I posted last week, so I’d like to start a regular motivational post; Motivational Mondays! Here we go:

I recently heard about a campaign called Row for Water; a young athlete named Katie Spotz is rowing across the Atlantic Ocean from Senegal to French Guiana to raise awareness and money for Blue Planet Run, a non-profit funding safe drinking water projects for the billion people around the world in need. Oh, and she’s rowing across the ocean alone. In less than 100 days.

She uses special satellite equipment to update her blog (on the main site) and Twitter accounts with daily happenings or interesting things she sees along the way. There’s also a location tracker on the site. She’s 29 days in to her journey and she looks to be over a third of the way to her destination. Go Katie!

Some other career highlights for Katie:

  • Swim for Water (another Blue Planet Run cause): Became first person to swim the entire length of 325 mile Allegheny River, averaging 12-15 miles per day, and with a one day swim of 22 miles
  • Big Ride Across America (for Clean Air/American Lung Association): Cycled 3,300 miles across the United States from Seattle to D.C., averaging 85 miles a day for forty days
  • Desert Run: Ran 150 miles across the Mojave Desert and Colorado Desert, solo and self-supported
  • Half Ironman Triathlon: First in age group (1.2 mi swim, 56 mi bike, 13.1 mi run)
  • Cycled over 1,000 miles of solo bike tours within the United States, with a longest single day ride of 236 miles
  • Oxfam Trail Run: Completed 62-mile ultra marathon in Melbourne, Australia

This lady is rock solid. If you’re able, shoot a few dollars towards Blue Planet Run.

What will motivate you this week?

2 Responses to “Motivation Monday: Row for Water”

  1. Lacey February 1, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    rowing the Atlantic ALONE?!?! how is that safe/possible?!?! my goodness. the things people are capable of… she sort of makes me feel like I need a cause! And I need to run across the country in support of it. Which is kind of an awesome inspiration, really. I always wonder what I would do if I didn’t need to work to make money and didn’t want to pursue a career in the paid-working-world. i wonder what my limits are as far as huge undertakings like running/biking of this amount/time/demands…

    thanks for the motivation!

    • Kera February 1, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      I know! I also sometimes wonder what I would do with my time if I weren’t working…

      And yes, alone! I’d be terrified. But I guess she has a bunch of satellite equipment so if anything goes wrong she can send out a distress signal and be rescued. Me- I’d be afraid of going crazy with no one to talk to for 100 days.

Leave a Reply

