I’m Famous! (not really)

27 Jan

I’ve been busy.

(via the Boston Globe)

They got a weird angle of my face.

We had a camera crew and reporters from WBZ there, too.

What this means for my running updates: well… there are none. I have not run this week aside from my long run. The awesomeness of today’s event totally makes up for that. Hopefully I’ll be able to pull a double tomorrow and do strength in the morning and a tempo at night.

Dinner Stuff

Despite the busy schedule, I managed to make an awesome dinner tonight: Cajun halibut with dill sauce.

Fish Ingredients:
halibut filets (however much you want)
olive oil
Cajun seasoning (I used Tony Cachere’s)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Place the filets in a baking dish, drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with seasoning. Flip the filets and repeat. Bake for 10-15 minutes until easily flaked with a fork.

Sauce Ingredients:
2 tbsp light mayo
2 tbsp fresh dill
1 tsp lemon juice

This sauce really should have sour cream too. But I didn’t care. So it’s all unhealthy mayo (made with canola oil… does that make up for anything? No? Okay fine). Mix everything in a small bowl. Yep, you’re done.

Serve the tilapia with a little dollop of sauce on the side. The spicy cajun seasoning goes beautifully with the cool dill sauce.

I would show you a photo… but my dad and I ate it all pretty much once it came out of the oven. We’re little oinkers.

6 Responses to “I’m Famous! (not really)”

  1. slamdunk January 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Congrats on the brush with fame.

    • Kera January 27, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

      Haha it was hardly a brush with fame. I’m more excited that my event got coverage than I am my picture was taken. But thanks.

  2. Lacey January 27, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    i’m intimidated by cooking my own fish. back when i wasn’t vegan i would ALWAYS order it at restaurants tho :) and elliot would cook it once in awhile.

    CONGRATS on the coverage!!!!!!!!!!! i love the globe :)

    • Kera January 28, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks! The media coverage was an unexpected surprise, which was really exciting.

      Kudos for sticking with the veganism. I eat mostly vegetarian meals, but I can’t imagine myself giving up milk or cheese. That’s awesome :)

  3. Christy January 28, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Love your recipe! I lived in Alaska for a bit and was lucky enough to access to fresh halibut and salmon. YUM! I can’t wait for summer to grill some fish.

    • Kera January 28, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Oh man, fresh halibut and salmon? I’m jealous. Although I live in New England so there isn’t really a shortage of good seafood ;)

      And yes! Summer grilling. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

