Thirteen Things Thursday

21 Jan

Yep, Thirteen Things instead of Three Things. More on that in #3.

1. I love food. A lot.

You probably know that by now. But it’s not always easy to prepare balanced meals on a tight schedule. Here are my struggles:

  • My commute is an hour both ways. Depending on when I get out of work (and if I have to fit my training in at night) I’m sometimes simply too tired to fix a meal.
  • Also due to said time constraint, most of my lunches have dwindled down to haphazardly-packed leftovers. This makes me sad since I really look forward to lunch.
  • My mom is a picky eater. When I cook, I cook for the family. I don’t want to buy things that only benefit me (unless it’s a snack- we each buy our own snacks), so I try to make meals we can all enjoy. This is somewhat limited based on my mom’s tastes. Every now and then I’ll prepare a meal she’s not fond of, but I hate doing that too often.
  • If I don’t cook for the whole family, our food costs go up a bunch. So I need ways to prepare simple, low-ingredient meals that are healthy.

Such a simple criteria, right? I did really well when I first got my job, but as my ideas ran thin so did my lunchbox. I’m always so impressed with the meals Yasmin puts together, and I’m jealous of her creativity ;) Maybe it’s just a matter of thinking outside the box in terms of meal planning? Whatever it is, I need to get my bum back in gear. One meal on the list of “things I really need to try:” Mini Greek Pizza Muffins. The recipe was in my gym’s January newsletter and I was like NEED.

2. I’m going to start taking group classes at my gym again.

Taking group classes (and getting to know the people in the class!) this past summer made it much harder to skip. I felt more accountable when I knew people. It also forces me to not give in to my sleepy morning stupor.

3. I’ve been tagged!

J at Morning Runner tagged me to list 10 things (see that’s why it’s Thirteen Things Thursday!) that make me happy, then tag 10 others.

10. Small animals: I can’t help it. I love them. I become 5 years old when I see baby animals.

9. Candlelight: it’s my one of my favorite ways to unwind.

8. Apple picking: I’m a New England girl, so this is a must every autumn. Pardon my dorky face. The apple had a tumor.

7. Traveling: there are few things more exciting than getting to experience another place’s culture. I’ve only been within the States, US Territories, and Canada… I hope to travel internationally at some point.

6. Sunny days: no explanation needed ;)

5. Cooking: love it.

4. Farmers markets: when May rolls around, my favorite market comes to life. It’s two blocks from my office. Hello, joy.

3. Crossing my very first finish line.

2. Friends!

Look at Brian’s awesome penguin hat!

1. And of course, family.

I’m tagging:
1. Yasmin – Pretty Little Steps
2. Brian – Big B on the Road
3. Amanda – Run To The Finish
4. Velma – Running With Boys
5. Mel – Tall Mom on the Run
6. Lacey – Common Objects and Everyday Events
7. Marlene – Mission to a(nother) Marathon
8. Tricia – Endurance Isn’t Only Physical
9. Erin – Eri-thon
10. TAGmyStyle

Quick edit: I’d like to add Michelle to the list, but with 10 things that make her angry (like Sarah Palin). I find your rants so wonderful and amusing.

5 Responses to “Thirteen Things Thursday”

  1. Christy January 22, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Good luck with your training and cooking! I can’t wait for our farmers markets to start up again….love it!

    • Kera January 22, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Thank you! Farmers markets truly are a gift from the yummy gods.

  2. Yasmin January 22, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Ooooh I have a feeling our 10 things are going to have many overlaps ;)

    With classes starting, I’m totally finding myself short on time for food-making, so starting this Sunday I’m going to try the whole make-in-bulk-and-freeze technique. We can trade tips!

  3. J January 25, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I am a big fan of apple picking too! I just love fall and apple pies!

    have you tried making meals on sunday then freezing them so you can just come home and take them out and heat them up?? Sometimes I will make things then put them in the fridge or freezer for later if i know i am going to busy. Also I do alot of crock pot stuff – you can just set it to go in the morning on low (preparing food the night before or on weekend) and then it will all ready to eat when you get home. Just some suggestions!

  4. Tricia January 28, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    :) Loved your list. Thanks for tagging me.

Leave a Reply

