Ill Will

20 Jan

So winter may have finally caught up to me and handed me my first cold in a long time. It’s not that bad, but I’m definitely feeling worn out and congested. I gave my hand at doing some speed work this morning. It simultaneously felt good and bad, if that makes any sense. Like, I felt pretty comfortable at my speed pace but very fatigued also. Hard to explain. I tried my hand on the elliptical instead, but to no avail. Alas, I’ll try again tomorrow. Hopefully with more sleep, too.

On an unrelated note, I’ve started thinking about what gear to bring/wear during my race. I have a throwaway hat and gloves already, and I’ll be getting a cheap fleece (Disney actually collects and washes all the throwaway clothes, then donates them to a charity. Yay!). I’m undecided about wearing a tank vs. a t-shirt, and shorts vs. crops. The race kicks off at 6am, but I have to be at the start no later than 4am. It’ll be somewhere in the 50s at that point, and probably climb into the high 60s/low 70s by the end of the race. I would do trial and error of gear on my own, but it’s a bit hard to test out a tank and shorts on a long run when it’s 30°F here.

So I ask you, fellow runners. What is your favorite race getup? Any tips for dealing with temperature changes mid-race? Is it wise to wear crops to stay warm in the first few hours, or stick with shorts to keep cool in the last few miles?

6 Responses to “Ill Will”

  1. Lacey January 20, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    i’ve never thrown anything away.. but i guess you could get a thrift shop sweatshirt or something!

    sorry you have a cold :( def get some rest, that usually makes a huge difference. and tea!!

    • Kera January 22, 2010 at 7:18 am #

      I’ve found some really awesome cheap fleeces at Old Navy. If I can’t find one at a thrift shop, that’ll probably be my next stop.

      And I’m feeling SO much better after resting this week! Lots and lots of tea at work may have helped too ;)

  2. Yasmin January 20, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Oh no! Lots and lots of vitamin C my friend. Kiwi’s are my new go-to fruit for vit C.

    As for the race, I would do layers for the top. I have this one Nike jacket (Nike Fit Storm) that I LOVE, because it’s very light but insulates like no other! It also has sleeves zip off. SO I would wear something like that with a dry-wick shirt underneath.
    For the bottom half– personally, I can’t do shorts in cold weather, so my vote goes to the crops.

    • Kera January 22, 2010 at 7:20 am #

      Ooh kiwi. I always forget about those lovely little fruits. Probably because I’m trying to not think about summer as much as possible, heh.

      Layers will be a must. I like the idea of zip-off sleeves, but I don’t know where I’ll put them (still need to buy a little pouch for Shot Bloks and my camera). It seems like the crops are getting the most votes. Hooray crops!

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero January 21, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Stay away from the elliptical! That’s all I can say on that subject. But I’m a big fan of throwing stuff away mid-race. Go with crops if you want..but definately wear something ontop to trash. When I clean out my closet, I always save zipups I’d normally trash for races. That way I don’t need to worry about losing something I like.

    • Kera January 22, 2010 at 7:22 am #

      What, you aren’t totally in love with the elliptical? How could that be?!? Yeah, it’s an evil device. There’s a row of this one type at my gym that’s like half stair machine, half elliptical. You don’t get a full stride at all… I don’t understand its purpose.

      I’ll keep in mind saving old zipups for the future. My fall cleaning cleared out a bunch of stuff already, so right now I have no zipups to spare. Thrift or Old Navy it is!

Leave a Reply

