Make it Work!

17 Jan

Videogame Strategy Inspired Teen’s Amazing Diet

Has anyone else read about this? I have to say, I’m really impressed. To summarize, a gamer was 14 years old when he started tipping the scales at 300 pounds. He realized he had to make a change and, rather than diet like everyone else, he created a weight-loss plan based on video game strategies. He set out to “beat the game” and collect as many points/accomplishments as possible (i.e. exercising was earning points, eating junk food was losing points). Not only am I impressed that someone created such a unique program for themselves, but he did it at 14! And with the video gaming community being stereotypically out of shape, I’m really interested to see if this takes off. There’s nothing more frustrating than trying to follow a diet and exercise plan that does not make sense or appeal to you… he completely solved his own problem. I love it.

This Weekend
…has been so lazy. I’m okay with it.

No that’s not true. Yesterday I set out on my longest training run to date: 8 miles! I didn’t have the best dinner the night before (edamame and a slice of pizza) and I hadn’t done a distance run in about two weeks. But the weather was beautiful and I took it easy as to not aggravate my hip again.

The numbers…
Distance: 8 miles
Time: 1:23:28
Splits: 10:13, 10:36, 10:37, 10:20, 10:25, 10:39, 10:41, 9:50

Like I said, nice and easy. The sidewalks and roads are still really icy, so there were some points where I had to come to almost a complete stop in order to navigate the ice and snow. In a vain attempt to keep running and change from sidewalk to street, I ended up putting my foot right into a snowbank. At mile 5. Mmmm chilly foot. I also ran with my water belt for the first time, since I tend to get thirsty in a snap when I run. It was a little weird… glad I’m not going to have to do that in the race (there are 9 water stops along the course, no problem).

I also tried running with my Nike+ for the first time. I did a 0.25 mile walk then 0.25 mile run to calibrate. It so did not calibrate. When my Garmin read 0.96 miles, Nike+ said 1 mile. No biggie, pretty close. But soon enough it was off by half a mile or more. This was particularly torturous when I was at 7.11 and it said “Congratulations, 8 miles complete” and I’m like “NO IT’S NOT YOU STUPID SENSOR, I HAVE ALMOST A MILE TO GO I HATE YOU.” Seriously, I don’t want to hear I’m “done” when I’m clearly not. Also not using this during my race. I don’t want it telling me I’m done with the half at mile 11. What a tease.

Has anyone had any good luck calibrating their Nike+? Any tips for making it work better? It’s definitely not a necessity with my trusty Garmin by my side, but I have it, so I might as well Tim Gunn it and Make it Work™.

6 Responses to “Make it Work!”

  1. Yasmin January 18, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    AHHH 8 miles?!!! That’s awesome! You kept a consistent pace too, which is ALWAYS a good sign (:

    I don’t use a Nike+, just my Garmin. I figure even if the Garmin over or under calibrates, if I stick to using it, it makes for relatively consistent running.

    • runkerarun January 18, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      Yes, I’m SO happy I was surprised with my Garmin at Christmas. Now that I’ve used it, I can’t imagine anything else. I wish the Nike+ would work properly, but meh.

      And thank you! It ended up being a perfect winter day for a long run, aside from the icy ground ;)

  2. Tricia January 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Great job on the 8 miles yesterday!

    I ran my longest run to day (10miles) yesterday too, and it was my first time running with a hydration belt. Definitely glad I won’t have to do that during a race!

    I don’t know anything about the Nike+ other than that people say its best to use a track to calibrate them.

    • runkerarun January 20, 2010 at 7:13 am #

      Congrats on your 10 miles!

      I used my Garmin to track my distance while calibrating the Nike+ so I know it was accurate. But I’ll try out the track thing when there’s no more snow on the ground :) Thanks!

  3. TAG January 19, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    That is so brutal that it told you that you had reached the 8 mile point before you actually did. It’s funny now, but I definitely wouldn’t laugh while it happened lol. Congrats though!

    • runkerarun January 20, 2010 at 7:14 am #

      Haha it’s definitely more amusing now than it was then. At that point I wanted to throw it on the train tracks.

Leave a Reply

