It’ll ride up with wear

14 Jan

Am I the only one to watch ‘Are You Being Served?’ growing up? Yes? Aww :(

So here’s the scenario: you’re running, and all of a sudden the waistband of your shorts is actually around your waist, and your shorts are hugging you in ways you just don’t want. No amount of pulling and adjusting helps here; they’ll ride back up in 5 minutes.

Yeah that’s me almost every time I run in shorts. I have one pair of running shorts that I found at Old Navy (of all places!) that had a pair of lil’ bloomers built in. These shorts are quite magical and always stay in place. The rest? Hello uncomfortable city.

Have any of you experienced this wonderful ‘riding up’ sensation before? Is there anything I can do to keep my shorts in place, or am I about to go on a hunt for more bloomers-in shorts? Not that I mind the latter too much, as long as they’re not crazy expensive.

Last night was my second set of speed work training. On a treadmill. Suck. I can’t wait for it to be light out in the early morning. But the speedwork went pretty well:

1% incline, 29:20 total, 3 miles total
10 min/mi warm up
4×800 at 8:45 with 10 min pace in between for 1-2 minutes
0.15 mi cool down walk

I had intended on doing cross training this morning, then at 5:45 realized that I forgot to change my alarm from 6am to 5am. So woop woop cross training tonight. With shorts that love to hug my bum in all the wrong ways.

Oh, I totally almost forgot! RunToTheFinish is having an awesome Progresso Soup giveaway this week, and it ends tomorrow. It’s chilly outside- you know you want some yummy yummy soup to warm up with :)

6 Responses to “It’ll ride up with wear”

  1. Yasmin January 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    VERY nice job on the speed training! Speed intervals are hard!

    And ooomg yessssss to the riding up… Well, not yes as in ILOVETHAT. I can sympathize

    • runkerarun January 14, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

      Thanks! The treadmill is a dastardly place for speed work (okay, all things running). Mix that with shorts that have dreams of existing back in 1975, ouch.

  2. The Vegan Anti-Hero January 14, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Yea you gotta stock up on good shorts when you find them. I have a pair of Hind running shorts from high school that I’m still wearing. I have another Nike pair that was so old the elastic in the bloomer part stopped working. So I just sewed in new elastics because I like them that much. I like them because they don’t ride up. So good luck finding some! And when you do – never throw them away!

    • runkerarun January 14, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      Apparently Old Navy has a whole active section now… aww yeah gonna go cheap hoardin’. The one pair I have is so magical that I sometimes think about rummaging through my laundry to wear them again. Sometimes I do just that. I promise, I use Febreze.

  3. runshorts January 14, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    I’m not sure if Lululemon has infiltrated Boston, but their running shorts changed my life. Unfortunately they are a wee bit, and by a wee bit I mean a lot, more expensive than ye olde navy.

    • runkerarun January 14, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

      ohh yes, they have a store around the corner from my office. I’ve drooled over their items, only to remember that I am 23, live at home, and have only had a job for 2 months. Mmm, money. Maybe their clearance rack will show some promise, though…

Leave a Reply

