Running Groups

11 Jan

Tonight I ran with my first-ever running group. Conclusion: I need to work on my speed ;) I actually wasn’t too concerned with speed, especially since I know I become a sniffling spitting neanderthal if I run in the cold, and it’s 25°F so there ya go. One runner (who happens to be a run ambassador for another store in the chain that runs the group) held back and was kind enough to run with me while the others went ahead. It was incredibly nice of him, especially since he averages a 7:10 pace and I can be anywhere from a 9-10.

Run totals
Distance: 3.71 miles
Time: 37:21
Splits: 10:04, 9:06, 10:42, 7:29
Elevation range: -59ft to 404ft (guh.)

I plan on doing this weekly, and I know that I’ll fall behind for a while. And I’m okay with that, and I don’t expect people to fall back for me. Worse comes to worse, I lose the group, turn around, and retrace my steps back to the start. It’s all on main streets in Boston, so there’s little danger in running alone *knock on wood.*

I think this group run brought me out of my running funk. I was cranky and whiny about my poor times and distances, so it’s a good thing I wasn’t blogging during that time. You all would have unfollowed me. I’m back in happy mode and ready to move forward.

Oh, and I PRed my 5K time. So, that’s cool too. :)

7 Responses to “Running Groups”

  1. Yasmin January 11, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Ooooh that’s good news! How’s your hip feeling?

    Btw, I would not unfollow you given heightened crank-factors. I’m pretty much a bundle of mood swings on my blog…

    • runkerarun January 12, 2010 at 6:27 am #

      It’s SO much better, thanks! The pain on the top of my foot is still there, but I think that’s from tying my shoes too tight. Easy solution there, duh.

      And yeah, blogs are pretty much an emotion dump, eh? At least we’re not on LiveJournal ;)

  2. J January 12, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Congrats on the PR! I have been wanting to go to a running group but there arent that many around me. Only like training groups for races/marathons.

    • runkerarun January 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks! And there are a few running groups in my area, this one happens to be the most convenient. There are probably so many since I work about 2 blocks from the Boston finish line and it’s a very run-centric region ;)

      Although like I said in my post, I really need to work on my speed to keep up with the rest of the group, haha

  3. Lacey January 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    yay for happy mode :)

    awesome about the running group!!!!!!! what store are you running with?? i wish i was “in” boston to take advantage of stuff like that. i used to join “the running company” in lexington but even that was far enough away from watertown i got tired of rearranging my schedule to do it.

    • runkerarun January 13, 2010 at 10:44 am #

      I’m running with lululemon athletica. All their classes and groups are free for all, which is really fantastic. The ambassador I was running with is going to start hosting running education events at the Burlington store, then host a 5k. It sounds pretty interesting! The company is being really proactive with the community.

  4. RunToFinish January 14, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Speed is exactly what i thought when starting a group…which was really intimidating and really good for me!

Leave a Reply

