It’s got electrolytes

29 Dec

I’ve been bad at commenting lately/replying to comments. I blame the holidays. That will be fixed starting now.

Has anyone else tried coconut water as a replacement for sports drinks? I first tried it about two months ago at the suggestion of a manager at my old internship. He mentioned the high levels of potassium, making it a great recovery fluid. I gave it a go, and even with flavors added I find it a bit… flavorless. But I figured the pros outweighed the cons and gulped it down. I bought two boxes after that first one, and one is still sitting in my fridge unopened.

I didn’t think about it much more until I read a blog post by Healthy Eats on the hype of coconut water. They confirm higher levels of electrolytes, but then go into the dangers of too much potassium, as well as the higher price tag in comparison to a standard sports drink.

Has anyone given this a long-term try before? Is there a noticeable difference in recovery time in comparison to drinking regular water and sports drinks?

My verdict: I’ll probably stick with sports drinks, bananas and water. If the taste of coconut water isn’t that great, and the extra nutrients are really nothing more than ingredients for expensive waste, then it’s not worth it.

But on the other hand, it’s got electrolytes. It’s what plants crave. Not water, like from the toilet.

6 Responses to “It’s got electrolytes”

  1. Tom Lee December 29, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Great post Kera! Very informative. Who’s this manager from your old internship? He sounds like a world-class athlete ; ) Personally, I drink water and Gatorade for post-workout hydration. Coconut water doesn’t satisfy my thirst as much as Gatorade does. I do find that coconut water is great for a hydration boost leading up to a run/workout, especially if you haven’t hydrated properly throughout the day. I keep a bunch in the fridge at all times. It’s also a miracle hangover cure…um…I’ve been told.

    • runkerarun December 29, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

      Ahh so there was lots of coconut water going around after the holiday party, eh? ;)

      And man, that manager was such a chump, recommending this to me and all…

  2. Yasmin December 30, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    I tried it once, but didn’t like it enough to shell out money on it. My heirarchy of electrolyte recovery is: water, banana, gatorade or powerade, salt, coconut water.

    I know what you mean about lacking on blogging duties, I’ve been doing it! I think it’s a side effect of this time of year ;)

    • runkerarun December 30, 2009 at 9:24 am #

      Yeah that’s pretty much my hierarchy too. Although, I had some coconut water this morning just because it was there and I actually REMEMBERED that it was there ;)

  3. lacey December 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    well i did’nt like it when i first tried it. then i tried it again and thought it was okay! i guess i haven’t tried it long term and i would pick it up here and there as i sort of believe in it. but usually i just drink water anyway. i think it’s a good alternative for some people. and a mental “feel good” thing as well.

    • runkerarun December 31, 2009 at 11:11 am #

      I think if it were cheaper I might give it some more credit. But I agree, there is a bit of a mental feel good aspect to it.

Leave a Reply

