Carry On My Wayward Run

17 Dec

YES! It’s just a muscle strain. Just? Just. I got a prescription for some heavy duty Aleve and the number of an orthopedic doctor/athlete nearby. Maybe I’ll just save it for the next time I need a date. Or the next time I’m injured. Whatever comes first.

I was told to ease back into things- focus on cross training and don’t increase distance. You have my word that I’ll try to not increase distance. But this really only holds until Sunday when I’m supposed to do 5.5. Maybe I’ll ease up on the pace. Maybe.

The doctor also told me that I’ve lost 6 pounds since July. Uh? I eat constantly, so this was a shock. Thanks, increased training schedule.

So of course I’m running tonight. If I didn’t have to get to work right after my appointment, you better believe that I would have been all ready to run home in my Sauconys, jeans, and down jacket. Anything to protect you from that lovely 8°F weather, right? It’s warmed up to 20°F now, maybe I should go tanning on the deck…

4 Responses to “Carry On My Wayward Run”

  1. Yasmin December 17, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    That’s wonderful news! Deep sigh of relief.

    And “it WARMED up to 20*?” there air nothin warm about 20*… …
    oh boy, high times

  2. Lacey December 17, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    lol let me get my beach chair…

    thank goodness for the “only” muscle strain!!!!! that will heal supahhh fast :)

    also– nice work on 6lbs :) always nice to have some wiggle room!!!

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 18, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    How awful is this weather??? I hate it. But I just wanted to say YAY to just a muscle strain. If you can celebrate muscle strains. I guess it’s the best alternative. So on with the celebration!

  4. velma (beth) December 21, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Sorry I have been remiss on the commenting. I am glad you are on the mend – glad you got it looked at! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

