Two More Races

16 Dec

So when you’re taking a rest from running while in the middle of training, it’s totally normal to be looking for the next race to sign up for, right? Right??

That’s what I did while I ate lunch: I idly browsed some websites and came across two halfs that I am soclose to signing up for. The first race isn’t even close yet and I’m already thinking about the next two. Whatever. They’re in Boston, so no travel woes.

Up first is Boston’s Run to Remember, a race honoring Massachusetts Law Enforcement Officers killed in the line of duty and celebrating their lives and giving back to the community. There’s a Half Marathon option and a 5 miler. It took me a few seconds before I excitedly realized that I’ve DONE a 5 miler, so I might as well have my sights set on the Half :) Then a month later is the Inaugural 13.1 Boston. It’s part of a nationwide series of 13.1 races benefitting various charities (Boston supports Crohn’s and Colitis research).

Is there some sort of anonymous hotline for race signups? Because I’m just a reach away from my wallet and my right hand is click-happy on the left mouse button. 1-800-WHY-RACE, anyone?

3 Responses to “Two More Races”

  1. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 16, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Isn’t racing so expensive??? An annoymous hotline would totally be appropriate for so many runners. I’ve been eyeing races too lately since I’ve been sidelined. I always want to race more when I can’t even run. Anyway, I hope your doctor appointment goes well tomorrow and nothing is too wrong with the hip.

    • runkerarun December 16, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

      Between the shoes, clothes, race registrations, and any needed medical bills, running is a damn expensive hobby.

      Thanks for the well-wishes. I’m just anxious to get moving again.

  2. Yasmin December 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Ooooh yeaaaa ;)

    the only thing that keeps from registering for every race I see (bc every race I seems like “THE best race EVER!”) is the thought of shelling $900 in yearly race entry fees

Leave a Reply

