Odd Thoughts

13 Dec

This week at work was crazy, so my blogtime decreased drastically. Getting up at 5am and getting home at 6pm (often later) totally drained me. I even skipped my cross training yesterday to rest some more. Ugh. Gotta do my 5 miles today, though.

So today’s post is dedicated to random things I’ve thought about over the week, but aren’t thorough enough to have a full post dedicated to them. Here we gooooo:

  1. Almost every day, I get off the subway at the Prudential Center in Boston. There are three sets of stairs/escalators you need to climb in order to reach the main mall level. It amazes me how often I’ll see people lined up waiting to get on the escalator while the stairs directly next to them are empty. Wake yourself up, get your heart pumping a bit and take the stairs.
  2. Sometimes I like to do sudoku puzzles on my commute. I’m not a huge sudoku fan, but they’re fun time wasters. I also like them because I’m somewhat synesthetic and I interpret numbers to be certain colors. So when I play, I can easily notice which “color” is missing from a line or block and fill it in. Side note: as a kid, my favorite time of day was always 7:45 because it was purple, pink, and red. I thought this was totally normal until a few years ago, and now I think it’s both normal and awesome.
  3. There’s a proposal out to redesign food labels, which I am totally loving. I really hope this comes into effect in the next few years. View a full comparative PDF here.
  4. The next episode of Glee is exactly 4 months away. I am so sad about this, you don’t even know. I’ve had Lea Michele’s rendition of ‘Don’t Rain on My Parade’ stuck in my head since Wednesday. And I’m not a Barbara fan. Go Glee.
  5. I love meeting other runners at parties and events. You end up sharing such great stories and tips. There’s such a great bond between people who are crazy enough to run for extended periods of time.

At this point I think I’m just procrastinating my own run, so I’m going to quit while I’m ahead.

One Response to “Odd Thoughts”

  1. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 16, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I almost cried when I heard Glee was gone for so long! Such a sad moment in my life, I’m just glad I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

