They’re not jealous, they’re just confused

10 Dec

Some of you may have seen the commercials for the new Reebok EasyTone sneakers, which have something blah blah in the sole and “tone” your thighs and butt. One of the tag lines is:

88% of men are speechless
76% of women are jealous
0% will know the reason is on your feet

And 100% of the commercials focus solely on objectification to sell the product. They all zoom in closely on a woman’s body, and talk almost entirely about image (I always think that last video is a Victoria’s Secret ad). There’s even one that talks from the perspective of the woman’s boobs (I was going to put a warning here, but you know what you’re getting if you click that). Umm what? Yeah, 90% of the time her chest fills up the screen, and voiceovers show her boobs talking to one another, showing how jealous they are of her butt. “Did you see? Nobody is staring at us anymore.” “Aren’t we still hot?” “Clearly.” If you visited the link up there, you’ll see that the first thing the company says about the shoes is they’ll give you a “nice booty.” At least with Victoria’s Secret commercials, you already know the company is built off the selling point of goddess-like women in expensive lingerie.

I know that the only reason I work out is so my boobs will be jealous of my butt. And my butt will be jealous of my legs. And my legs will be jealous of my spine. And my spine will be jealous of my inner ear. And my inner… wait, I blacked out, what’s going on here?

Seriously though, these ads read more Maxim magazine than Shape magazine. I think they may have missed their target audience by a bit. Or who knows, maybe they only wanted to target the superficial. Excuse me, I have to go make my medulla oblongata jealous now.

6 Responses to “They’re not jealous, they’re just confused”

  1. Yasmin December 10, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Hahaha love how your spine is jeal of your inner ear. How can I get mine like that???

    There’s an article about this in the nyt today.

    • runkerarun December 13, 2009 at 10:32 am #

      When one body part is jealous of another, it’s all a downward spiral from there. I’d imagine it’d like being an awkward teenager for the rest of your life. Ew.

  2. J December 11, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    I do not like the reebok ads at all. I saw one on the tv a few days ago and couldn’t even believe they thought they should air those to try and sell the product!

    • runkerarun December 13, 2009 at 10:34 am #

      When I first saw the ad I was like “ok maybe this is a parody or something” but nope, totally selling on image. I’ve never seen the boobs one on TV, though. Maybe that’s just an internet ad…

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 11, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    I know honestly! Seriously, those commercials are ridiculous. And am I really to believe my bum will look like that by simply strapping on a pair of sneakers?? Ridiculous.

    • runkerarun December 13, 2009 at 10:36 am #

      Um they have balance ball technology. And it was created by NASA!! So that means it totally has to work. And if after a month your bum doesn’t look like those of the women in the commercials, it’s obviously the shoes’ fault and not yours.

Leave a Reply

