We’ve only got 3 months to save the world

7 Dec

Okay, maybe not “save the world.” But there’s exactly 3 months until my race, and I have that song ‘4 Minutes’ by Madonna and J.Timbs stuck in my head. Love that song.

This weekend I took it pretty easy on the training:
Saturday:
• 20 minutes on the cross trainer
• 25 minutes on a recline bike
• 15 minutes strength training

Sunday:
• 4.5 miles- 44:09
• 9:48 average pace

Total HBBC points for the weekend: 10 (including 2 for fruits and veggies)

I definitely think that taking it easy helped my run yesterday. I ate a craptastic (but soooo delicious) breakfast of pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast and hash, so my motivation to run was low and desire to become a potato in my bed was high. But I got to the gym, and lo and behold, they had Food Network on as one of the TV stations. Ahh! So I watched Paula Deen as I ran. I very often feel like having to exercise after watching her show… it’s like all the butter she uses passes through your TV and into your bloodstream. So that was a win-win. Oh Paula, I see you making that buttery, buttery English toffee. Excuse me, I’m going to turn up the intensity now.

I’ve started listening to some podcasts on my commute to work, and today I listened to my first episode of RunRunLive, a (shock!) running podcast. I listened to the 11/26 broadcast (it’s out once a week), and there was a great guest piece about product endorsements. For those of you that don’t know, I’m a Marketing Coordinator, so I squealed with delight at the merged discussion of running and corporate branding. Such a nerd, so not caring. The podcast is really great, though. It’s full of excellent information, a bit of music here and there, and insightful commentary. It’d make a great listening item for long run days.

Enjoy your Monday, everyone!

5 Responses to “We’ve only got 3 months to save the world”

  1. Yasmin December 7, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    You are getting faster! That’s awesome (:

    I LOVE watching the Food Network when I run too! Except sometimes it makes me reaaaally hungry (;

  2. Brian December 7, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    Some solid workouts there. How is Paula so upbeat and happy with all the butter? Must be booze or something :).

    Unfortunatly at my gym they play VH1 reality TV on half of the tvs so I either stuck watching CSPAN or Tool Acedemy….. ugh

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 7, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    Paula Deen cracks me up! I always watch her show joking about how she is going to add a stick of butter to everything she makes. Then she throws in two. Perfect running entertainment she does make.

  4. Lacey December 9, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    lol!!!!!!! i love watching food network. and i’m on either end of the spectrum either feel like absolutely mowing down on food or working out cuz i just can’t take any more food hah. some of those shows are great.

    sounds like a really cool podcast! what kind of marketing stuff do you do? i was always interested in that but always from a distance since psychology has completely dominated my life professionally :) i have yet to listen to a pod cast but i’ve downloaded a few so i’m hoping they come up on the ipod shuffle soon!!!!!!!!! (lol cuz i can’t make playlists on the shuffle, the podcasts have been on the playlist for a few weeks and i haven’t heard them yet!!!)

    • runkerarun December 9, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

      I do a little of everything for marketing, heh. I work on social media campaigns, print materials, event planning, customer service, etc. There’s a certain level of psychology to making marketing work, haha.

      And I’ve actually been kinda bad about listening to my podcasts in the morning… I guess I just like the sound of silence/thoughts in my head on my commute! Which podcasts have you downloaded?

Leave a Reply

